WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Is Self-Publishing His New Novel

The things people believe…

Captain America

Apropos of nothing particularly relevant to this blog, I offer this image to brighten your day. It came from this Tumblr.

I used to do a lot of writing about politics and social issues, on my old blog, “Brother Kenya’s Paradigm,” but the more I immersed myself in that world the more frustrated I got with it. Just the other day, Paul Krugman wrote about how the two parties are now diametric opposites, which means that the country is divided into two completely different camps on the matter of — reality. That’s right: in today’s political world you really can believe what you want to believe, and millions of people are on your side no matter what you believe.

The vaccination issue is only one among many. Because a bunch of people believe that the measles vaccine causes autism, it’s okay to act on that belief (even though it’s demonstrably false) and retain legitimacy. Or the one that gets me is evolution. If you don’t accept it (even thought it’s demonstrably true), you get to keep it out of science textbooks in red states like Texas.

Maybe a Batman poster would help, where he says, “Yeah, we’re the descendents of monkeys. Get over it!”

In any event, I don’t write about politics and social issues anymore because my blood pressure can’t hack it. I did like the Captain America PSA, though. Someone’s still fighting for truth and justice!

13 comments on “The things people believe…

  1. Gretchen Getsinger
    April 15, 2015

    The only political or social comments I make are on Facebook for an hour or so a couple of times a day. This helps me let off steam and keep my blood pressure within manageable parameters. I couldn’t agree with you more on Evolution, Vaccination and probably so much more and I like your idea for a Batman poster.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 15, 2015

      Yes, it’s good to let off steam. I’m practically a teapot sometimes…

  2. John W. Howell
    April 15, 2015

    Loved the PSA.

  3. ericjbaker
    April 15, 2015

    I used to write satirical news articles as a way of exorcising my frustration with politics and social issues. There’s too much to be frustrated about, unfortunately. I also don’t want to alienate/argue with people who disagree with me on issues because it becomes tiresome and, frankly, it’s easier to like people when you don’t know what they stand for. I’ll still tackle racism though, because I don’t care about offending racists.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 15, 2015

      I agree. The arguments are bad for the psyche, in the end, because the two (mainly two) sides don’t hear each other. And yes, learning where someone stands can be a startling wake-up call, say, if you like the guy and he turns out to be a rampant Ted Cruz supporter. It was fun while it lasted…

  4. kingmidget
    April 15, 2015

    Yep. This is something I’m trying to do as well. Actually, I don’t mind writing about politics, but I’m trying to avoid looking at what certain elements write about political and social issues. The internet has provided a forum for anybody and everybody to spread lies and untruths across the universe. And far too many people simply do not care whether what they are saying and writing is true or remotely close to being true. It is stunning and part of why I plan on becoming a hermit as I move closer to and then enter my retirement years.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 15, 2015

      Right on, hermit bro! That’s exactly what my wife and I have in mind, and we’re getting there step by step. No one can disappoint you when you’re a hermit!

      But yeah, it does seem like the internet has legitimized fringe thought, or at least it has made it way too easy to disseminate it. Like minds find each other and start a network, and pretty soon goofy shit is going viral. Doesn’t seem like a recipe for utopia…

  5. 1WriteWay
    April 16, 2015

    I flip-flop about posting my political views. I try to restraint myself when it comes to my blog, but on Facebook, sometimes I just don’t give a f**k what certain “friends” might think. I have a cousin who once expressed surprise that I posted a meme about supporting disabled children. She implied that since I was pro-choice, she assumed I would recommend they be aborted, not given life and love. That cut pretty deep, but she’s a fundamentalist, “abortion is the scourge of the world” type of person.

    Still, when I disagree with someone’s views, I usually keep it to myself. Once upon a time, it seemed like you could have polite political discussions, but as you and my man Krugman note, it’s all too polarized these days. I try to take the high road, but sometimes I fail because I find it difficult to not get emotional.

    And our media sources are just as polarized. When I see friends sparring on Facebook, their weapons of choice are usually Faux News and MSNBC, or Faux News and The Daily Show. (Interestingly to me anyway, The Daily Show at least does a better job at casting a harsh spotlight on both Republicans and Democrats and Libertarians. Everyone seems to be fair game for Jon Stewart, which is one of the reasons I appreciate his show.)

    My husband and I are tending toward hermitage too.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 16, 2015

      It does seem like there are no simple, polite disagreements anymore. Everything escalates into shrillness. Or worse!

      Maybe if enough of us become hermits, no one will be left to argue…

      • 1WriteWay
        April 17, 2015

        Sometimes it’s (almost) entertaining. One of my cousins, who is fairly liberal, is “friends” with someone who is stridently conservative. She baits her friend with liberal memes on FB and the friend goes practically apoplectic in her responses. I thought it was an act until I got entangled in one of the friend’s responses. I won’t be making that mistake again, although it’s tempting because she’s so easily riled up 😉

  6. francisguenette
    April 16, 2015

    Haven’t had the time to stop by in a while – I’ve missed your punchy writing style. Great post – totally understandable emotions. Your words me of a news bit I listened to yesterday where a supposed Christian moderate drove another guy on a panel to almost hysterics by a constant spewing of hyperbolic rhetoric directed at Ontario’s Premier, Kathleen Wynn and the new sex education program for schools proposed for Ontario. The fanatic spoke with such composure, he made the guy who actually had the facts sound like the nut. What a world we live in.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 16, 2015

      Thanks, Fran! Nice to see you here again too.

      It is weird how the fanatics can be so composed, but it’s mainly because they have talking points that they just keep repeating no matter what their opponent says. They never respond to critiques, they just say their piece over and over again.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2015 by in Et alia and tagged .
