WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Is Self-Publishing His New Novel

Never say never: get Occasional Soulmates for free next weekend

3D cover

I know, I know. I said I’d never do it. Early in my self-publishing experiment, I declared (at least I think I did) that I’d never give my books away as a promotion. The very idea repelled me. I gagged at the notion that people would grab the thing by the hundreds for free but they wouldn’t pay the 99 cents I usually ask in a promo. Yet, it seems to be the case that self-publishing ebooks is almost dependent on the freebie.

What changed my mind, you ask? Well, for one thing, sales of Occasional Soulmates have been (sob sob) disappointing. My experience this time around has driven home the fact that you have to market constantly, you have to spend quite a bit of money, and you have to obsess over the selling of a book to give it any kind of life on the charts. Possibly I don’t have the stomach for that. I’m not about to overload Twitter with frantic appeals, since it’s clear that doesn’t work. I also owe it to my wife not to drop major coin on relatively ineffective marketing services that are, let’s face it, geared toward hard-core genre material.

For another thing, I read an interview with a writer who’d been tagged as “literary,” who, when asked what was the single most important thing she’d done to generate interest in her work said, “The Amazon free promotion.” It brought in so many new eyes that her books began to sell independent of promotions. I wish I could remember who she is!

The bottom line is, I’m willing at this point to try it. I’d like more people to read Occasional Soulmates. I’d like them to discover Yesterday Road and Parts Unknown. I’d like them to anticipate my next book, Town Father. And since I’m not focused on the money side of all this, it’s reasonable to consider the freebie the cost of marketing.

If you have a blog or you’re willing to throw some Tweets into the air, stay tuned. The promo begins on May 1 and runs through May 3. I’d be forever grateful for any help you can lend.

Occasional Soulmates. Free. Next weekend.

25 comments on “Never say never: get Occasional Soulmates for free next weekend

  1. Charles Yallowitz
    April 24, 2015

    Reblogged this on Legends of Windemere.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 24, 2015

      Thanks, Charles! Start spreadin’ the news, as they say…

      • Charles Yallowitz
        April 24, 2015

        You’re welcome. Never too early to start the promotions.

  2. islandeditions
    April 24, 2015

    I’m at the ready! Finger poised over the send button … although I’m not sure I can hold this position for a week.

  3. John W. Howell
    April 24, 2015

    Reblogged this on Fiction Favorites and commented:
    This is a five-star read and it won’t cost a thing next weekend. I would go get one.

  4. foguth
    April 24, 2015

    Good luck with this give-away!

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 24, 2015

      Thanks so much, and thanks for sending me Kristen Lamb’s post too!

  5. sknicholls
    April 24, 2015

    Reblogged this on S.K. Nicholls and commented:
    A great book for FREE next weekend. Help spread the word and get yourself a copy, compliments of author, Kevin Brennan!

  6. Elle Knowles
    April 24, 2015

    Reblogged this on Finding Myself Through Writing and commented:
    I read Yesterday Road and it was amazing. I absolutely loved it! Now I have Kevin Brennan’s Occasional Soulmates in my TBR list. Though I didn’t get mine for free you can get your copy for free May 1-3. Thanks Kevin for this great deal! ~Elle

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 24, 2015

      Thanks so much for the kind words, Elle! It’s always a real pleasure to hear that someone loved YR. It’s a sentimental fave of mine.

  7. Dylan Hearn
    April 25, 2015

    I’m all ready to help promote when you’re ready. I think ‘free’ is a good tool for indie authors if it’s used as part of a promotional plan. Most of the authors I love I first read for free, either from a library or more likely as a loaned book from friends. Free is no different. Most won’t read the book, or may read it and not like it, but those that do like the book will become fans and may well buy everything else you’ve written.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 25, 2015

      That’s my hope, Dylan — that readers of the freebie will be left with wanting more. And it’s not as if my others will break the bank either!

      Thanks for your help, and I’ll post a reminder later in the week…

  8. 1WriteWay
    April 25, 2015

    I’ll do what I can to move this baby along 🙂

  9. 1WriteWay
    April 25, 2015

    Reblogged this on 1WriteWay and commented:
    To everyone who enjoys a good story, one that she will ponder for a long while after finishing the book: Next weekend, one of my fav authors is GIVING AWAY his most recent novel. You can get Occasional Soulmates for free next weekend! Of course, I would prefer that readers do what I did and buy the paperback version because it is so much more fun to read than an e-book. But, if you haven’t yet read Occasional Soulmates, take advantage of the free promotion next weekend. Read and fall in love with Sarah Phelan and Dylan Cakebread and follow them on their sometimes hilarious, sometimes heart-breaking journey. Then buy the paperbook because, you know, you’ll want that baby on your bookshelf.

  10. artourway
    April 25, 2015

    What???

  11. pinklightsabre
    April 25, 2015

    Sorry to hear the sales have been disappointing Kevin and I hope this works — looking forward to checking it out myself! Cheers, – Bill

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 25, 2015

      Well, nobody said this would be easy. In fact, everybody said it WOULDN’T be. They were right. 😳

  12. francisguenette
    April 25, 2015

    I’m your Canadian sale! I’m trying to stick to the never free thing – so I’m not waiting to get your book for free! I know what you’re going through – first hand. Hoping the free days work for you.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 25, 2015

      Fran, how wonderful! I wondered who that could be, knowing the book’d be free in a few days… That’s called Paying It Forward!

      And yes, I know you know how it is. Big time.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2015 by in Publishing and tagged , , , , , .
