WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Doomed, doomed I tell you!

Woodland

Ran across this interactive shockfest over the weekend and thought I’d better raise the alarm. It’s called “Your Life On Earth — How you and the world have changed since you were born.”

Troubling enough that I, for example, have traveled more than 34 billion miles around the sun and that my heart has already beaten 2 billion times. That’s a lotta lub dubs. What bothers me more are facts like the one shown in the graphic above: In my relatively short lifetime, the earth has lost more than 1.5 billion acres in forest.

View 1

Some of my best friends

 

Now, I love trees. I happen to have a real thing for them. And since I now live in the thick of them, it saddens me to think we’re going to keep chopping them down until they go dodo. Not good.

Go to the site and enter your own info. I’m sure you’ll be surprised at what’s been going on behind your back.

10 comments on “Doomed, doomed I tell you!

  1. John W. Howell
    April 27, 2015

    I’m almost afraid to do so.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 27, 2015

      Maybe it’s best not to…

      • John W. Howell
        April 27, 2015

        74 years is a long time for this ole planet.

      • Kevin Brennan
        April 27, 2015

        Drop in the bucket, if she’s 4 billion years old or so!

  2. kingmidget
    April 27, 2015

    Actually I don’t think that graphic is that bad. When I first read it, I thought the number on the right was how many acres are left now, rather than the number that has been lost. When you think about it, it’s only slightly more than 10% of what existed all those years ago. Considering the exploding population and excessive drain on natural resources in those years, I’m surprised it’s not much more, much more. I mean when you think about it, much of America was covered by forests a few hundred years ago and a much smaller number of people were able to obliterate many of those forests. There’s something about the number in the graphic that doesn’t seem so bad. Although I’m with you on your love of the tree and I hope we figure out a way to slow and eliminate the decline and keep what we have.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 27, 2015

      I guess I’m looking at more of a long-term outcome. If 10% got eaten up in my lifetime, then total deforestation could happen in a couple of hundred years, given population growth, etc. It won’t affect me, but humanity won’t do so well without trees. Oxygen, right?

      • kingmidget
        April 27, 2015

        I get it. There isn’t really much optimism when you look out a hundred years or more. I just would have expected the depletion of the last 50 years to be much worse.

  3. 1WriteWay
    April 28, 2015

    You and I were born in the same year. I need not read further than your post … ;(

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 28, 2015

      Oddly enough they also factor in your birth date and height. I’m not sure how that changes the results… heartbeats maybe?

      • 1WriteWay
        April 29, 2015

        Interesting … I’ll have to check it out 🙂

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on April 27, 2015 by in Et alia and tagged .
