WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Is Self-Publishing His New Novel

You can judge a book by its cover

file000974080682

It’s a cliché that you can’t judge a book by its cover, but come on. Let’s face it.  A lot of book covers tell you that what’s inside isn’t going to sit so well — like gamey cottage cheese.

Now you can put the cliché to the test with “Judgey,” an online game that lets you rate book covers then compares your ratings with average Goodreads ratings of the books. I played one round, and here’s what Judgey told me when I was done:

You may know what you like but you sure as hell know what you don’t like. Which is a lot, apparently. Pretty damn judgey!

Yes, I judged the covers honestly, according to my personal taste and standards. I’ll tell you right now, if you want to win the game, think like a reader of Bigfoot Erotica and you’ll be fine.

Let us know how you did!

25 comments on “You can judge a book by its cover

  1. John W. Howell
    September 2, 2015

    Great advice on the game. made me LOL

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 2, 2015

      BTW, have you chosen a cover for your book yet? I saw the options a while back…

      • John W. Howell
        September 2, 2015

        Yes, I have. Waiting a little for a cover reveal

  2. kingmidget
    September 2, 2015

    I am the Judgeyest: Absolutely nothing impresses you.
    If Michelangelo himself painted these
    covers you’d still say ‘meh.’
    Thumbs down.

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 2, 2015

      Good for you. I think I was a little soft on some of them…

      • kingmidget
        September 2, 2015

        Well, maybe I was too hard. Truth is, the covers in this didn’t really do anything for me. Truth is, I don’t think the cover in real life never really does anything for me.

      • Kevin Brennan
        September 3, 2015

        Eye of the beholder, I guess, eh?

  3. Charles Yallowitz
    September 2, 2015

    I think that tip to winning the game will give me nightmares. Was trying to forget that genre existed.

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 2, 2015

      Now it’s burned into your brain. Surrender to Bigfoot Erotica!

  4. Phillip McCollum
    September 2, 2015

    Apparently I’m “Asleep at the Wheel.” The site tells me I should stick to watching TV. Maybe it’s on to something…

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 2, 2015

      Hmm, what does that even mean? You randomized your answers? This is starting to sound like the Magic 8 Ball.

  5. Carrie Rubin
    September 2, 2015

    I got ‘Pretty Damn Fair.’ I’ll take that.

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 2, 2015

      I bet you gave everything 2.5 stars. 😉

      • Carrie Rubin
        September 2, 2015

        I didn’t. Honest. I don’t have it in me.

  6. pinklightsabre
    September 2, 2015

    It’s funny, I got a hardcopy of your book here yesterday and yet I’ve been seeing it for so long as a thumbnail, I actually thought man, that’s a really good cover (Occasional Soulmates). Like an album cover, glad I got it full-scale.

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 2, 2015

      Man, you got that thing in a hurry. Bravo to the Luftpost!

      Glad you like the cover. Both it and the one to Yesterday Road were done by my main man, Max Scratchmann, out of Edinburgh. I’ll have him working on my next one shortly…

      • pinklightsabre
        September 2, 2015

        What a name, Max Scratchmann. We just booked two flats in Edinburgh for mid November, about 10 days. Looking forward to scouring that city from the inside out, and eating the seeds.

      • Kevin Brennan
        September 3, 2015

        Max does poetry performances there from time to time. Maybe you’ll run into him at a fringe festival sort of thing.

        I hope those seeds don’t taste like haggis…

  7. islandeditions
    September 2, 2015

    Is Bigfoot Erotica the next genre you’ll be tackling? Just wondering …

  8. cinthiaritchie
    September 5, 2015

    Good post! I am so damned sick of bare-chested book covers and big-boobed book covers. They seem to be all over my Twitter feed. If someone needs to work so hard for readers there’s probably a good chance that his/her writing and/or book isn’t up to par. And, sadly, much of this erotica is in no way erotic, sigh, sigh.

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 6, 2015

      So true. When the cover is the most erotic thing about an erotic novel, you know you’re in for a snoozer.

      At this point, these covers are such clichés that the pages inside might as well be blank!

  9. 1WriteWay
    September 7, 2015

    I got the same Judgey response as you did so I went for a 2nd round and got this:

    Pretty Damn Fair

    You like some things.
    Others, not so much. Your consistency is consistent.
    And we like that. You’re not bad at this.

    Just wanted to be sure it wasn’t one of those games that gives the same answer to everything 😉

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 7, 2015

      “Pretty damn fair.” Actually, that sounds like you! 😏

      • 1WriteWay
        September 9, 2015

        I try, but sometimes it’s a challenge 😉

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on September 2, 2015 by in Et alia and tagged .
