WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Bye, cycle

IMG_0042

“When in a reading cycle are you most likely to use Goodreads?”

WTF?

This question is in the current Goodreads “Featured Poll.” Maybe you’ve seen it. I tend to ignore that crap as I look at my pathetic Goodreads page, but for some reason it caught my eye the other day.

“When in a reading cycle are you most likely to use Goodreads?”

What the hell is a “reading cycle”?

If you’re like me, and you read all the time, there’s no such thing as a “reading cycle.” A “reading cycle” is pretty much, “life as I know it.” So the question, “When in life as you know it are you most likely to use Goodreads?” is probably best answered with, “Never.”

I’m starting to wonder what Goodreads is there for. (Don’t forget, it’s owned by Amazon…)

Who can fill me in?

16 comments on “Bye, cycle

  1. kingmidget
    September 8, 2015

    Totally with you on this one … I read, therefore I am. Or something like that.

    I take a look at Goodreads regularly and pay almost no attention to it. But, oddly enough, a week or two ago I read the first line of Carrie Rubin’s review of a book — The Kind Worth Killing — and based on that one sentence, I decided to read the book. Other than that, no I don’t pay attention to Goodreads.

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 8, 2015

      I guess maybe once or twice in two years I’ve spotted a book based on someone’s recommendation there. Mostly I use actual book reviews in actual publications to keep my “reading cycles” going.

      “I read therefore I am.” I like it. Goodreads does feel a little bit narcissistic, doesn’t it…

      • kingmidget
        September 8, 2015

        Truth is I almost never read a book based on reviews.

  2. pinklightsabre
    September 8, 2015

    I’d provide some thoughts, but I’m in a drinking cycle right now. Probably not much use to anyone, least of all Amazon.

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 8, 2015

      I’m all for a drinking cycle. Just trying to stay out of a vicious cycle…

  3. Phillip McCollum
    September 8, 2015

    I post copies of my Amazon reviews there, but often wonder why… Just a completist I guess (gotta collect all the Amazon-associated sites!) Other than that, I use it as a simple book database of what I’ve read. It’s fun to occasionally look at the list and strike a memory.

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 8, 2015

      Yes, I do tend to use it as a memory bank, and also a storehouse of Want To Reads. As social media, though, it seems like quite a flop. I don’t really have time to use the forums and communities there, plus it seems like it’s heavily genre-oriented, wouldn’t you say?

      • Phillip McCollum
        September 8, 2015

        Agreed, though I did get some helpful advice on Nonfiction books from one of the forums.

  4. John W. Howell
    September 8, 2015

    Not me. I do not have a clue.

  5. 1WriteWay
    September 9, 2015

    Huh? I’m only on Goodreads if I’m posting a review or some stranger is trying to “friend” me. Otherwise, I”m too busy reading or writing or breathing.

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 9, 2015

      And another thing. I don’t care what page people are on in whatever book they’re currently reading (Game of Thrones part XXI…).

      • 1WriteWay
        September 13, 2015

        omg, they actually do that?!

  6. cinthiaritchie
    September 10, 2015

    Sometimes I fear that Goodreads is the Facebook of reading. “Look at me! I’m reading! I know how to read! And the books I read are so much more interesting than the books you read!”
    I’m starting to hate all social media except for blogging.

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 10, 2015

      You’re so right. There’s a real ego trip to all of this, and for so little tangible effect. Maybe social media is peaking and will soon go the way of the hula hoop!

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on September 8, 2015 by in Social media and tagged , , , .
