WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Is Self-Publishing His New Novel

Scrivener sale

apple_iie_larger

I’ve never tried the popular writing software, Scrivener 2, but I just snagged a copy for $19.50 via the Boing Boing store. The price just seemed too good to pass up, and buying outright rather than messing around with a free trial struck me as a better way to dive in.

If you’ve been meaning to try Scrivener, here’s your cheapskate’s shot!

Be aware up front, however, that this is for the Mac version. I don’t think Scrivener 2 is available yet for PC.

[Just so you know, the sale ends (or ended, if you’re reading this ex post facto) at midnight on October 14, 2015. Snooze U lose!]

11 comments on “Scrivener sale

  1. sknicholls
    September 9, 2015

    If you get frustrated with it for any reason, I highly rec. Gwen Hernandez’s classes. She totally rocks this and wrote the Scrivener’s for Dummies book. She took the platform to a whole new level for me. http://gwenhernandez.com/

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 9, 2015

      Thanks for the tip. Might save me some time too…

  2. 1WriteWay
    September 9, 2015

    I have Scrivener and have yet to use it. Considering the condition of my novels, I think it would be wise for me to use it. I think our friend Dave Pagan is also a big Scrivener’s fan.

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 9, 2015

      Interestingly, I see in the tutorial that “you’re going to want to export your documents to a real word processor at some point.” Hmmmm.

      • 1WriteWay
        September 13, 2015

        Cue the theme music from “Jaws” …

  3. John W. Howell
    September 9, 2015

    Thanks. I may be too old to teach new tricks.

  4. Kelsie Engen
    September 13, 2015

    Exporting to Word or something else isn’t that difficult when you reach that point, so don’t worry there. Scrivener really makes it easy to export/compile into another document format. I have used Scrivener for years and love it. It truly does make writing easier–keeping track of details, characters, settings, etc is just so much simpler with this program. I hope you find it useful. There are tons of YouTube tutorials and classes and books for Scrivener out there, so use those sources if you get stuck! Good luck!

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 14, 2015

      Thanks for the advice, Kelsie. I’m slowly making my way through the built-in tutorial and finding lots of useful tools. I think the tricky part will be teaching myself how to adapt the way I’ve been working to what the program offers. I’m so old-school!

      Thanks for stopping by too…

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on September 9, 2015 by in Writing and tagged , , .
