WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

My new novel is coming down the pike

file0001909554852

Countdown time. My new novel is on the horizon.

I have the paperback proof in my hot little hands, and I’ve been poring over it for those hitherto undetected typos that always sneak up on you here near the end. So far so good.

What excites me most right now, though, is the fabulous cover designed by my go-to artist/designer, Max Scratchmann, which I’ll be revealing soon. It so nails the sense of the book that I have to think it’ll sell a number of copies on its own. People might want the book just so they can have this beauty of a cover on their end table. (Of course, I do hope they read and like the story too!)

In case you’ve forgotten, the title of the book is Town Father — Or, Where Graceful Girls Abound. It’s a historical fantasia set in 1880s Gold Country, concerning a town composed only of women. Three hundred of them, to be exact. They have the closest thing there is to a utopian life in the foothills, but it worries them that their little town of Hestia will vanish one day if they’re unable to replenish the population. What they need is a town father.

Enter Henry O’Farrell, benign Philadelphian. The women hire him to come out and perform sundry duties (without telling him what they are, naturally). To put it plainly, he has no idea what he’s getting into when he accepts the job.

Gives new meaning to the term “Mother Lode.”

Just to try something a little different this time, I’ll be publishing the paperback first. No publicity. No manic hype. I’ll just announce that it’s available to order, and those readers who swear by print will fork over $11. Think of it as a Kickstarter campaign for marketing funds. You trade some modest money for the book, and then you start a groundswell of grassroots word-of-mouth in advance of the ebook. Simple.

Even if you’re an avid reader of ebooks, you’re going to want the paperback this time. Trust me. Max has done a spectacular job, not only with the cover but also with the interior design. And once again, CreateSpace print-on-demand books are, to my eye, indistinguishable from trade paperbacks put out by the Big Five.

So. Coming soon. Town Father — Or, Where Graceful Girls Abound.

Watch this space for news.

21 comments on “My new novel is coming down the pike

  1. Charles Yallowitz
    October 13, 2015

    Very cool.

  2. kingmidget
    October 13, 2015

    Hold on a sec … I don’t remember seeing an ad for the job. Where do I sign up?

    Congrats on this and I look forward to purchasing the paperback, hiking up the hill, and getting your autograph.

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 13, 2015

      Sounds good, Mark!

      Frankly I think the job is better on paper than in reality. Luckily, it’s fiction!

      • kingmidget
        October 13, 2015

        Sadly, you are likely right. But a man can dream of such things anyway.

  3. sknicholls
    October 13, 2015

    Great things happening. This one is going to be fun–I feel it.

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 13, 2015

      Gettin’ down to the wire. Hope you like it, Susan!

  4. pinklightsabre
    October 13, 2015

    Love the idea of your approach Kevin, and here’s to paper. RePREsent and keeping it real, you.

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 13, 2015

      Thanks, Bill. At this point, I’m just ready to throw noodles at the wall to see if they stick. Al dente marketing.

      • pinklightsabre
        October 13, 2015

        Go on with your badself. At least you know what to expect that way, can trust yourself.

  5. Pamela Beckford
    October 13, 2015

    Reblogged this on Poetry by Pamela.

  6. islandeditions
    October 13, 2015

    Am so looking forward to reading a new book by you, Kevin, in paper or otherwise. I will also be interested to see how this new method of publishing works for you. All the best luck with this!

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 13, 2015

      Thanks, Susan! I’ll be keeping my expectations in check on this one, but it’s different for me and might find a new batch of readers.

  7. Phillip McCollum
    October 13, 2015

    Looking forward to it Kevin!!

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 13, 2015

      I know the locale is near and dear to you… Hope I’ve done it justice!

  8. John W. Howell
    October 13, 2015

    Sounds wonderful.

  9. 1WriteWay
    October 18, 2015

    Looking forward to it, Kevin!

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 18, 2015

      Wish I had an advance copy to send you! Seriously, though, you’re gonna love how the p’back looks. 😜

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on October 13, 2015 by in Publishing and tagged , , , , , , , , .
