WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

You shouldn’t let poets lie to you

Whenever I want to feel good about things, I find this little clip of Björk explaining how a television works. A poet once told her that TVs were hypnotizing us or something like that, but she read in a Danish book just that morning that it’s really just electrons shooting through vires. I mean wires.

She’s delightful. Whenever you want to feel good about things, forget the poets and come straight to this video.

9 comments on “You shouldn’t let poets lie to you

  1. pinklightsabre
    October 14, 2015

    I believe the poet. But what do I know. Just that I’m more interested in the tiny city behind the screen, and the elevators.

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 14, 2015

      It does look like an interesting little city in there, doesn’t it? I like how the wires are “making sure” the electrons get through…

  2. John W. Howell
    October 14, 2015

    Cute I would say.

  3. Phillip McCollum
    October 14, 2015

    Awesome video. Love Bjork. Thanks for sharing.

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 14, 2015

      My pleasure. Be sure to bookmark it for when you need a lift!

  4. 1WriteWay
    October 18, 2015

    Frankly, I do find TV hypnotizing at times. Especially when visiting with my family for a few days and watching network TV. How often I tried to avert my eyes when The Voice came on or some crime drama that seems like all the other crime dramas that have ever been … and the commercials … oh, god, the commercials! Dare I say, it’s good to be home 😉

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 18, 2015

      I happen to have family members who are addicted to all those 48 Hours-like murder shows. They’re all the same (i.e., the verdict is always guilty), but my loved ones don’t seem to mind. Luckily, Sue’s (oops!) smart enough to DVR everything so I don’t see a lot of the commercials.

      That said, I recently tweeted, “I’m terrified of ever having to take Jublia. https://youtu.be/y5Ybz4Tkflk

      • 1WriteWay
        October 23, 2015

        I’ll have to check that link out later (at work right now). Ah, yes, commercials are the worst but it was an interesting experience in an ethnographic, anthropological way to watch them with my family. Since we limit ourselves to Netflix and Amazon Prime, we rarely see commercials.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on October 14, 2015 by in Et alia and tagged , .
