WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

More on “Town Father”

Paperback

Launch week continues…

One of the treats for me as a writer this time around — Town Father is very different for me, as you’ll see when you read it — was finding an approach to the material that would let me really immerse myself in it without getting pretentious or phony. You always have to be true to your own identity, but a great benefit of being a novelist is the ability to put on all kinds of costumes.

Here I assumed the role of a novelist of the 1880s. I would write my story of Hestia, California, as if I were telling it in that period, though, as I say, without getting all Victorian in my language and style. It is, after all, a story with contemporary themes. Feminism. Reproductive freedom. Social judgment. Relativism. Plain old morality.

But the tickling thing I understood right away was that no novelist of the 1880s could have told this story at all. The very first review would have declaimed it, “Preposterous!”

To ready myself for the task, I read several obscure novels of the era (thank you, Project Gutenberg), along with some not-so-obscure ones, and I did a lot of research about California Gold Country in the decades after the Gold Rush had subsided. Not to mention that I now live just a stone’s throw from Hestia (if it really had existed). The book’s details are so real to me that I almost feel like I can walk out the door and into Hestia’s central square and greet the ladies by name. All 300 of them.

Town Father is available in paperback right now at Amazon.com. Pick up your copy and be one of the first reviewers!

Oh, and you can download a pdf of Chapter 1 here.

23 comments on “More on “Town Father”

  1. Pamela Beckford
    October 27, 2015

    I’m anxious to read your newest book – when will it be available on Kindle?

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 27, 2015

      I’m staggering the releases this time, just to play with things. Almost done with formatting for the ebook, though.

      Thanks much for the reblog, too!

  2. Pamela Beckford
    October 27, 2015

    Reblogged this on Poetry by Pamela and commented:
    Kevin Brennan’s latest book is out on paperback. Pick up yours today!

  3. Charles Yallowitz
    October 27, 2015

    Reblogged this on Legends of Windemere.

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 27, 2015

      Much appreciated, Charles! Maybe your fantasy readers will hop onto the speculative historical bandwagon… 😜

      • Charles Yallowitz
        October 27, 2015

        You’re welcome. Seems a lot of people are exploring other genres, so I hope you get a few.

  4. 1WriteWay
    October 27, 2015

    Got it 🙂 By the way, it’s already being sold by other vendors through Amazon? How weird is that?

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 27, 2015

      Marie! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

      Yes, it is odd how these other vendors piggyback on the Amazon page. And since the book is POD, you know they don’t actually have copies yet…

      • 1WriteWay
        October 31, 2015

        Funny that, with the other vendors 😉

  5. John W. Howell
    October 27, 2015

    Reblogged this on Fiction Favorites and commented:
    Kevin’s new book. It should be terrific given the quality of his others.

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 27, 2015

      ‘Preciate it, John! And looking forward to running your launch post too.

      • John W. Howell
        October 27, 2015

        Thanks. Tell me when and I’ll promo you.

  6. sknicholls
    October 27, 2015

    Great news Keven!

  7. sknicholls
    October 27, 2015

    Reblogged this on S.K. Nicholls and commented:
    Kevin Brennan’s new book is out in POD. E-version to soon follow.

  8. Adrienne Morris
    October 27, 2015

    Love the sound of it! And the cover.

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 27, 2015

      Thanks, Adrienne! And thanks for following too. (I just recip’d!)

  9. cinthiaritchie
    October 28, 2015

    Eagerly awaiting the Kindle addition (we’re trying to reduce clutter and live as green as possible, which kind of sucks sometimes). You up for a bloggy interview as soon as I finish reading TF? Probably you’ve got tons already set up. But when you come up for air and have a moment, let me know and I’ll get you in. And, oh yeah–big, big congrats!

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 28, 2015

      I’d love to do an interview with you! I’ve actually not lined up anything for TF, since I’m trying a slow rollout and impetuous spontaneity as a marketing strategy, so this’ll be great.

      I get it about the clutter, for sure. But if there ever were a KB book you’d want to have in person, this is it. I can’t get over how beautiful it is! (Proud papa talking.)

  10. cinthiaritchie
    October 28, 2015

    Reblogged this on Cinthia Ritchie and commented:
    It’s here! It’s here! Kevin Brennan’s new book just released and I cannot wait to read. The paperback (i.e., a “real” book–remember those?) is currently in stock and the Kindle edition will soon be up for grabs, too.
    Hopefully I’ll snag Brennan for a bloggy interview within the next few weeks. Until then, read way.

  11. cinthiaritchie
    October 28, 2015

    P.S. Reblogged ya, too, hee, hee.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on October 27, 2015 by in Publishing and tagged , , , , , , .
