WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Is Self-Publishing His New Novel

Happy Gnu Ear

Covers

First, an announcement: I’m raising the prices of my ebooks early in 2016, so if they’re on your TBR list and you’d like to pick up a copy at bargain prices, please do it sooner than later.

In that same vein, Town Father is currently just $2.99, and I’m in desperate need of sales and reviews. So help a goombah out, why don’tcha? Getcher Town Father ebook right over here!

You can gaze upon my entire oeuvre here.

As I look back at 2015, I see it as one of the best years of my life, and guess what? That had nothing to do with writing. It was mainly due to stock-taking because of my move from Sonoma County to sylvan El Dorado — yes, Gold Country — and now I find my whole outlook transformed. Ducks are lining up in a tidy row, showing me in their anatine way that there are things in life just as rewarding as making shit up in my head and writing it down. Matter of fact, more rewarding. Staring out at the trees, for instance.

View 1

Of course, staring out at the trees tends to give me ideas for novels and stories, so it’s an endless cycle. But what’s important is to find a way toward fulfillment, eh? And if the writing life isn’t cutting it, then directing that creative energy someplace else might be a great idea.

Who knows what 2016 will bring? I don’t know. But I do know that 2015 was transformational, and the ripple effect of that is bound to carry well into the new year. After all, staring at the trees does tend to show you how to distinguish them from forests.

Here’s hoping that you find your bliss in 2016, and when you find it take it in a big bear hug and never let go.

7 comments on “Happy Gnu Ear

  1. 1WriteWay
    December 31, 2015

    Happy New Year, Kevin! Follow your bliss whatever it might be. I’d like it to be writing so I can look forward to another novel from you … but I’ll settle for being happy for you in whatever you choose to do 🙂

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 1, 2016

      I have a few tricks up my sleeve, but I also think the (emotional) cost/benefit analysis is tipping me toward the trees. Luckily I wrote a lot over the past ten years!

      • 1WriteWay
        January 2, 2016

        I hear ya … Living in the moment has profounder benefits than hanging expectations on a crazy book market.

  2. John W. Howell
    December 31, 2015

    Well, I started Town Father, and when I’m finished, I will review. I have come to admire your direct approach to the “buy my book” idea. I think I’m going to try it. Not too sure but this post sounds like a midlife cry of angst. Staring at trees? I can see it but for how long. A pick and a pan and a riverbed full of gold sounds more like it. Anyway, whatever you choose to do I’m sure you’ll be good at it.

    • Kevin Brennan
      December 31, 2015

      Actually, I got my mid-life crisis over with long ago, and the MGB nearly killed me!

      This is more like finding ways to lower my blood pressure instead of raising it.

      On that note, Happy New Year!

      • John W. Howell
        January 1, 2016

        Try medication. Works wonders.Happy New Year. Enjoying the book. (so what’s new)

      • Kevin Brennan
        January 1, 2016

        Oh garsh. I’m blushin’!

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on December 31, 2015 by in Writing and tagged .
