WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

A new year, a new canción original

Been a while since I’ve had the time to fiddle around with Garageband, but it’s been raining a lot lately so I slipped into my songwriting onesie and got down to business.

Here’s a short but sweet number to listen to if you’re feelin’ sorry for yourself. January’s a classic feelin’ sorry for yourself time of year, so I hope this helps.

As I say with every canción, I’m no singer but the song has words so I sung ’em.

9 comments on “A new year, a new canción original

  1. islandeditions
    January 6, 2016

    You kind of have a Dylan-ish thing going on there in your voice … which is not a bad thing! Very good. The words, too.

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 6, 2016

      Hey, thanks! I’ll take younger Dylan, if you don’t mind. Old Dylan sounds like an asthmatic moose.

  2. sknicholls
    January 6, 2016

    I agree with Susan. It’s Dylan-ish. I like. Some good guitar going on, too. 🙂

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 6, 2016

      Why, thank you! I tried quite a few effects on that solo till I found the right one… 😏

  3. John W. Howell
    January 6, 2016

    Liked the song a lot.Could be beach music.

  4. Exile on Pain Street
    January 7, 2016

    Nice work. It’s like Tom Waits with a decent voice. So are you telling me you casually tossed that out? Great. Another reason for me to lower the benchmark on my own ambition.

    (See how I made your song all about me? That’s my talent.)

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 7, 2016

      Well, I confess I worked on it for quite a while then put it aside. Thankfully the rains came!

      I tend to make songs all about me too. Maybe songs are meant to do that… 😜

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on January 6, 2016 by in Music and tagged , , .
