WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Is Self-Publishing His New Novel

Rebel against our novelist overlord!

IMG_6665

You know, as a fiction writer I’ve always wondered how real the characters in my books are. Do they have a life of their own, or are they restricted to the movements and thoughts that I give them? What would it be like to be one of them?

Well, after seeing Sarah Palin’s unreal endorsement of Donald Trump last week, it finally struck me: we are all characters in some cosmic novelist’s book! There’s no other explanation for what I saw.

If it’s true, I’m hoping the writer isn’t one of those who plot the whole thing out in advance. That’d be bad because we have no chance at changing the outcome on our own — by acting with autonomy. We’re the unwitting victims of this guy’s sadistic cruelty. But if he’s basically improvising (and that scene with Palin and Trump makes me very hopeful that he is), maybe we can start to strain the chains that bind us to his narrative and force him to rethink things.

I guess the problem for us is that novels always get worse for the characters before they get better. Since our creator appears to have it in for us, I’m already fearing one big clusterfuck of an election next fall, with results that will set up a really nasty sequel.

So join me, fellow prisoners, and let’s become the kind of characters who surprise their author by doing what we want to do. Put an end to this hack writer’s over-the-top plot devices.

Donate to the Bernie Sanders campaign today!

[By the by, “Gatecrash: Liberating creativity in the age of boilerplate fiction” will conclude on Monday with an inspirational message of hope and change. Be sure to tune in. I’ll also provide a link to a page with all the posts in one convenient location, plus a pdf file of the full essay you can download for free.]

13 comments on “Rebel against our novelist overlord!

  1. kingmidget
    January 23, 2016

    I have no doubt that my characters have thoughts and movements of their own and that there are all sorts of things they are doing outside the lines of my story that I don’t know about. Hmmm … maybe I should write a story and then write a sequel “Here’s what else was happening?”

    As for the rest of your point … what you’re suggesting essentially is that there is a god involved in pulling our strings.

    I’ll donate to Bernie to mess with that god.

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 23, 2016

      I think my characters are in suspended animation until I flip their switch again. Never bought into the idea that they do their own thing, but in this case, the only thing that explains Trump/Palin is some really bad writer/god with a sick sense of humor!

      • kingmidget
        January 23, 2016

        You’re unwilling to go with the other option? That the American people are just plain stupid and our media enables the stupidity?

      • Kevin Brennan
        January 23, 2016

        Hadn’t thought of that. Let’s say half the American people…

      • kingmidget
        January 23, 2016

        Actually, I hope that it’s at last slightly less than half of the voting population.

      • Kevin Brennan
        January 23, 2016

        Whatever it takes to get the smart ones over 270 electoral votes!

  2. John W. Howell
    January 23, 2016

    Can’t wait for another Clinton White House which is where the god writer is intending for the story to end.

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 23, 2016

      At least it ain’t a Trump White House. 😱

      • John W. Howell
        January 23, 2016

        Eight years under the school marm? Just shoot me.

  3. 1WriteWay
    January 25, 2016

    I saw some clips of Palin’s “endorsement.” I don’t think Trump looked particularly comfortable. I’m hoping he was regretting this endorsement with each second that passed. Bernie’s my guy. If I have to have an old white male in the office again, then let it be him 😉

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 25, 2016

      Yeah, I think DJT was rethinking his strategy during that speech… 😝 #feelthebern!

  4. pinklightsabre
    January 26, 2016

    Am I a bad American I’ve deliberately avoided looking at anything related to that candidate? Or a genius? I don’t feel like I’ve missed anything more than really, really bad feelings better bottled up and kept in the back somewhere to light and throw at someone when the apocalypse comes, which is soon.

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 26, 2016

      I’d say you’re a smart American. Over here, though, it’s hard to avoid him (them). In…your…face every damn day! It’s like watching “The Apprentice,” only your remote doesn’t work.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on January 23, 2016 by in Writing and tagged .
