WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Announcing my new editing service

Toytypewriter

Welcome to my shingle-hanging announcement, folks! As of today, I’m open for business as an editor of indie books destined for publication on Amazon et al.

I’m calling the operation Indie-Scribable. Indie for the indie part, and “scribable” for scribes. Clever, eh?

Come on over and have a look at my brand-spanking-new website.

I haven’t talked about it on the blog, but for most of my career I was an editor. I started at a medical publisher back in St. Louis, copyediting three or four different journals — such learned organs as Investigative Ophthalmology and Visual Science, the Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology, and, my favorite, the Journal of Enterostomal Therapy! Oh joy.

After that I was managing editor of the American Heart Association journal, Circulation, and then the Journal of the American College of Cardiology.

Yes, I paid my dues in the trenches of dense scholarly writing, but talk about attention to detail! It’s sobering to realize that if you make an editing error, someone could die.

The point is, I have sterling credentials. And, having now self-published three novels and a story collection, I’d like to use my editorial skills to help other indie authors put out nice, clean books that do them, and all indie authors, proud.

I’ll be offering my proofreading and copyediting services at an affordable rate.

In my research on where to land price-wise, I was astonished at what many editors are charging. It’s a definite deterrent to having your book professionally polished, and I’m talking totals with a K in them (as in $3K and up).

If you’re like me as an indie author, you understand that you’re not likely to earn $3K on your novel. You’re not likely to earn $1K on your book, and that means you’re in the red from the get-go. Add up your costs for cover design and formatting, and there’s little or nothing left for promotion. That’s where your cash can make a real difference.

But the problem is that writers who forego professional editing often wind up publishing books with lots of errors in them, which peeves readers but also gives indie authors a bad name. We need to do something about that if we’re ever going to get good critical attention, and as a matter of fact Amazon is starting to label books with quality issues and to remove them until the issues are fixed.

Trust me: You don’t want your book labeled “poor quality.”

If you’re in need of professional proofreading or copyediting for your fiction or non-fiction manuscript, go to Indie-Scribable and have a look around. I’ll be offering a special rate to my first three clients, so hop on over soon. Every client, by the way, will get a free ebook version of one of my novels when we’re finished with the project.

So please spread the word. Like selling books, this endeavor will depend heavily on the testimonials of friends and cohorts.

Contact me directly with questions: kevinbrennan520(at)gmail(dot)com.

And if you know someone who might be interested in my services, feel free to shoot them this pdf that leads them in the right direction.

48 comments on “Announcing my new editing service

  1. Charles Yallowitz
    February 9, 2016

    Reblogged this on Legends of Windemere.

  2. islandeditions
    February 9, 2016

    Congratulations!! I’m spreading the word …

  3. kingmidget
    February 9, 2016

    Good luck. This is something I’ve thought about doing at some point, but with the full-time job and everything else going on, I just haven’t had the time. Who knows. Maybe I’ll use your services the next time I complete something.

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 9, 2016

      Thanks, Mark. I know there are a lot of freelance editors out there, but I’m hoping my rates will attract some indies who don’t have a lot to spend.

  4. sknicholls
    February 9, 2016

    Reblogged this on S.K. Nicholls and commented:
    Got a book you want published but feel it needs some polishing first. Kevin Brennan has a new service.

  5. writeonthebeach
    February 9, 2016

    Good luck with your new venture

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 9, 2016

      Thanks so much! Not sure how well I’d do with British spelling, though… 😉

  6. pinklightsabre
    February 9, 2016

    So excited for you Kevin and the website looks fantastic. I clicked down into it quite a bit and hopeful when my time comes, you’ll have some room for new clients still! Congratulations, my friend. Bill

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 9, 2016

      Thanks a lot, Bill! I just thought it was time I start using my powers for good rather than evil … 😈

      • pinklightsabre
        February 9, 2016

        Sounds corporate, mister. Just mind the acronyms and the ‘five steps’ and so forth. Don’t go late 90s REM on us here.

      • Kevin Brennan
        February 9, 2016

        No worries. Iconoclast is my middle name.

  7. John W. Howell
    February 9, 2016

    Reblogged this on Fiction Favorites and commented:
    Kevin does the great editing of his books. They are perfect.

  8. Carrie Rubin
    February 9, 2016

    Congratulations! That’s wonderful, and your new site looks great. What an asset you’ll be for writers. And very cool name!

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 9, 2016

      Thanks, Carrie! Glad you like the name. My wife and I brainstormed our noodles off to come up with it… 😉

      • Carrie Rubin
        February 9, 2016

        It’s perfect. Now I know who to contact when I need a title for my books. 😉

  9. Pingback: Announcing my new editing service – Words Can Inspire the World

  10. ericjbaker
    February 9, 2016

    Where were you last year when I was writing my novel about an Enterostomal Therapist who solves murders on the side?

    But seriously folks, this is cool! If I ever recover my writing mojo and whip out a novel, I may look you up.

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 9, 2016

      I’d love to read that novel. Maybe we have a new genre on our hands?

      Thanks for the vote o’ confidence, Eric!

  11. Let's CUT the Crap!
    February 9, 2016

    Fantastic! 🙂

  12. 1WriteWay
    February 9, 2016

    Beautiful website! Best of luck to you, Kevin 🙂

  13. 1WriteWay
    February 9, 2016

    Reblogged this on 1WriteWay and commented:
    One of my favorite authors is now offering his services as an editor! Don’t waste time reading me. Just click on through and see what Kevin Brennan can offer you.

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 9, 2016

      Thanks a mil, Marie! And don’t forget, there’s a place for you on my docket!

      • 1WriteWay
        February 9, 2016

        🙂 We’ll be talking 🙂

  14. susielindau
    February 9, 2016

    Fantastic, John! Congrats on your new “hat.”

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 9, 2016

      Thanks a lot, Donna … I mean, Susie! 😉

      I like your hat too!

  15. susielindau
    February 9, 2016

    I mean, Kevin! Ha!

  16. cinthiaritchie
    February 9, 2016

    Awesome! I know you’ll excel. P.S. What a great idea. P.S.S. I worked as a newspaper editor for years but didn’t have to worry about anyone dying due to errors, just a lot of very angry phone calls, lol.

  17. Pingback: Announcing my new editing service – Kate McClelland

  18. The Coastal Crone
    February 10, 2016

    Good luck! Maybe I will get my novella finished one of these day. Oh, I think I had one of those toy typewriters as a child…tells you how old I am.

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 10, 2016

      Thanks! Yes, I love those old tin toys, but they do drive home that the clock on the wall is a’ticking …

  19. adeleulnais
    February 11, 2016

    Reblogged this on firefly465.

  20. islandeditions
    February 11, 2016

    Reblogged this on Books: Publishing, Reading, Writing and commented:
    Here’s a great new service being offered by one of my favourite authors, Kevin Brennan! If you are thinking of self-publishing and need help with editing – and we ALL need editing help! – check out what Kevin has come up with on this handy-dandy new website!

  21. Author Rebecca Heishman
    February 11, 2016

    You’ll be hearing from me one of these days.

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 11, 2016

      Terrific! I’ll save a spot on the schedule … 😏

  22. lovessiamese
    February 11, 2016

    Reblogged this on TheKingsKidChronicles and commented:
    This is great! A new editorial service that promises to be affordable, not leaving the author with no resources left for marketing. Check it out. Kevin Brennan wants to help other authors.

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 12, 2016

      Thanks for the reblog! Gotta start sharpening my blue pencils … 😜

  23. philosophermouseofthehedge
    February 15, 2016

    ” trenches of dense scholarly writing, but talk about attention to detail! It’s sobering to realize that if you make an editing error, someone could die.”
    You’re right, research writing and such is tedious, but it does teach you the importance of details and being 100% correct. (You are certainly well qualified for your new venture!)
    Love that quote!

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 15, 2016

      Thanks, Phil! (It is Phil, isn’t it?) It’s true, the avalanche of details in a technical paper gives you OCD. In a good way, I hope!

  24. Pingback: Submission challenge, and a new editing service – Cinthia Ritchie

  25. theowllady
    February 19, 2016

    Reblogged this on theowlladyblog.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on February 9, 2016 by in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , .
