WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

John Lennon sure was a brittle SOB …

As usual, John loses his cool during a recording session here. But that’s not why I picked this vid today. I just liked the way a couple of guys who’ve been playing together for a long time work their way through a tune.

I believe that’s Nicky Hopkins on the second piano, by the way. He died at 50 in 1994, poor bloke. But he sure played with just about everybody who was anybody back in the day.

As for Phil Spector? He’s rotting in jail.

2 comments on “John Lennon sure was a brittle SOB …

  1. pinklightsabre
    February 29, 2016

    That’s a pretty piece — hadn’t heard it before. Somehow, went straight from the last Beatles album into that Lennon album with “Well, Well, Well,” listened to it some, and then decided I didn’t need it in my life anymore. Although I play that George double LP quite often, still.

    • Kevin Brennan
      March 7, 2016

      I trot out that Plastic Ono Band LP every now and then. Some great, stripped-down numbers there. But this song is from “Imagine,” and I can’t stand to listen to anything he did after that. Seems like he started phoning it in, but I guess I can’t blame him.

      I do wish Phil Spector hadn’t produced “All Things Must Pass.” It’s so dense with sound that it seems to defy George’s sensibilities.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2016 by in Music and tagged , , .
