WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Can’t a girl catch a break?

occasional_soulmates_ebook_cover

Man, I just stumbled on a chart via Amazon Author Central, which shows graphs of your book sales, and I’m sad to report that poor old Occasional Soulmates has settled into a long-term flatline.

It’s a cute book, if I don’t say so myself. Good weekend reading, if you’re looking for something fun and a little bit different. Surprises await.

It’s perma-priced at $3.99 for the ebook.

Now run along!

13 comments on “Can’t a girl catch a break?

  1. kingmidget
    March 26, 2016

    I published One Night in Bridgeport way back in 2012, or was it 2013. Who knows anymore. Anyway, while nobody buys the paperback anymore, I’ve managed to sell 10-20 e-books every month over the last year. All for .99 a download. Yeah for me! Until this month. I went through the first half of March with nothing. Since then, there have been three purchases. The interesting thing is that about 80% of the purchases in recent months have come from the UK. I’m getting pretty close to a flatline as well. Time to finish something up and publish again.

    • Kevin Brennan
      March 27, 2016

      Man, I’d be thrilled selling 10-20 books a month! That’d buy a couple burritos, at least …

      Interesting that you’re getting UK sales all of a sudden. I wonder if there’s a key word in your metadata that’s attracting them.

      • kingmidget
        March 27, 2016

        If I kept my price at 3.99 or 4.99 I’d be at zero sales also. I sold my soul for those few sales.

  2. Audrey Driscoll
    March 26, 2016

    Ah yes, that flatline. I know it too well…

  3. francisguenette
    March 26, 2016

    It’s a great book, Kevin. I enjoyed it, a lot. Well worth a weekend read. More and more, I am convinced that it isn’t the quality of our books, it’s our ability to someone get our head above the churning sea that is Amazon while clutching our book between our teeth and waving madly.

    • Kevin Brennan
      March 27, 2016

      Aw, thanks, Fran!

      BTW, I’m leaning toward a BookBub promo for Town Father, so looking forward to your report on it. When is that happening for you?

      • francisguenette
        March 27, 2016

        Going on as I type – today is the day! I’ll let you know how it all works out when the dust settles. Right now, it’s a wild and crazy ride.

      • Kevin Brennan
        March 27, 2016

        You’re No. 1. Literally!

  4. cinthiaritchie
    March 28, 2016

    It’s a very, very good book and it sucks that it’s flatlined. Still, don’t give up hope, okay? I believe that readers find us in odd and mysterious ways. Plus the success of a book isn’t in sales so much as if it connects with that one person out there that needs to read it, needs to find something of herself/himself in the words, needs that jolt, that confirmation, that whatever it is we seek when picking up a book.
    Of course, sales do matter. A lot. But face it, we write for so, so much more than sales.
    So be heartened to know that your books have heart, and that’s the biggest success of all.

    • Kevin Brennan
      March 29, 2016

      Thanks, Cinthia … I needed that! 😘

      I can’t really complain. I’ve connected with quite a few readers who’ve been touched by this book — and the others — and you’re right: it’s more than fulfilling. I just don’t want to see my babies getting dusty on the shelf!

  5. 1WriteWay
    April 4, 2016

    Well, I liked your post but not the news. Hang in there, Kevin. Cinthia calls is just right 🙂

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on March 26, 2016 by in Publishing and tagged , , , , , .
