WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Capital punishment

AP_RGB

Just so you know — the Associated Press has determined that we are not to capitalize the words “Internet” and “Web” anymore.

I’ve been befuddled by those caps for a while now, since neither one is a trade name. It’s akin to capitalizing Water or Road.

(I guess this rule doesn’t apply to German, where all nouns are capitalized just because.)

Proofreaders and copyeditors take notice. Henceforth, it’s “internet” and “web”!

 

15 comments on “Capital punishment

  1. curtisbausse
    April 4, 2016

    Ah, thank you for that clarification. My editor changed all my internets to Internet. Now I can say I was just ahead of my time…

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 4, 2016

      I have a feeling it’ll take a while for the news to get around …

  2. Carrie Rubin
    April 4, 2016

    This is good to know. I just capitalized the word ‘Internet’ this morning. I guess it was my last hurrah.

  3. S.K. Nicholls
    April 4, 2016

    My editor kept capitalizing internet and google as if Googled were a proper verb. We had to debate about it, but I’m glad I won that round.

  4. pinklightsabre
    April 4, 2016

    I guess it’s about time but who do they think they are, telling us what to put where, and how? And does the New Yorker need to comply? I will have a hard time letting it go, it feels so spacious to capitalize it.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 4, 2016

      LOL. It’ll be a while for the New Yorker. They still say “coöperate”!

      • pinklightsabre
        April 4, 2016

        And hyphenate e-mail.

  5. cinthiaritchie
    April 5, 2016

    Oh, hell, AP style. When I worked as a journalist, AP style was regarded as a god. It was ridiculous. It was constantly, “According to AP style,” and I was like “Whatever.” I wonder who makes up these rules, if a bunch of people (and why do I imagine that they are men?) sit at a conference table and make up arbitrary grammar and editing rules that no one really cares about. Do they do if for power? Out of boredom? To reassure them that the world has meaning?

    But praise the lord that “Internet” is now “internet.”

    What always got me about AP style is the number rule: Everything under 10 is spelled out and 10 and above is in number form. Umm, why? To save space (but seven is five letters and ten is only three)? And if so, why then is percent spelled out (except when used in graphs, of course) instead of using the dandy little %% right on the keyboard? 100 percent takes up a hell of a lot more room than 100%.

    It’s a crazy world out there, eh?

  6. roughseasinthemed
    April 7, 2016

    Except journalism style and fiction are different. So AP doesn’t apply to fiction writers.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 7, 2016

      Good point. I looked it up on the Internet just to make sure.

      • roughseasinthemed
        April 7, 2016

        What did you look up? That journalism and fiction are different?

      • Kevin Brennan
        April 7, 2016

        “How to make a lame joke without really trying.” 😜

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on April 4, 2016 by in Writing and tagged .
