WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Boo hoo — BookBub turned me down!

Sad Tears

Yes, I half-expected it. I’ve heard how selective they are over there. So many naked-male-torso books to promote. So little space.

But I was hoping that, because I have a decent backlist and some really nice covers, the Bubs of Books would give Town Father a leg up here. No such luck.

One thing the book is lacking, though, is a lot of reviews. Six months in, and I’ve attracted only ten reviews. And, while I hate to admit it, the lion’s share of those are by people who know me through the blog and social media. Still, I’ll take what I can get!

I’d like to appeal to newcomers to the blog, though, and ask you to post a review of Town Father on Amazon, if you’ve read it. And if you haven’t read it, you can pick it up for a modest $3.99 here.

One lucky reader of this post will also earn a free copy by commenting here.

I won’t ask him/her to write a review, consequently, but a fella can hope!

Pumping up the review totals certainly can’t hurt when I resubmit Town Father for a spot on BookBub in a month or so.

Help me get them to accept my $620!

25 comments on “Boo hoo — BookBub turned me down!

  1. kingmidget
    April 11, 2016

    Sigh … The only way to get one of these promotional sites is to have the reviews and sales, but the only way to get reviews and sales is to be able to promote. And, no, this isn’t a backhanded way to get a free copy of your book. Already got mine.

    Have you heard from anybody if BookBub produces sales that make its cost worth it?

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 11, 2016

      The old Catch-22. That’s some catch, that Catch-22 …

      From what I hear, BookBub actually does deliver, though they make the usual caveat that “past performance doesn’t guarantee current results.” Still, there’s every possibility that I’d make back my investment, at least.

      • kingmidget
        April 11, 2016

        Good luck if you are able to get the book into BookBun.

  2. Pamela Beckford
    April 11, 2016

    Reblogged this on Poetry by Pamela and commented:
    I’ve read and reviewed this – great book. Have you read it? Then review it. If you haven’t read it, what are you waiting for? It’s a good read

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 11, 2016

      Yeah. What YOU said! (Thanks for reblogging, Pamela!)

  3. Author Rebecca Heishman
    April 11, 2016

    I already have the book but haven’t read it. I don’t need the free copy. I love to write reviews. I write dog lit for kids, their moms, and little old ladies, so my name won’t mean a thing to anyone who follows you, but I’ll do my part.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 11, 2016

      You know, I think as far as BookBub is concerned, it’s the number of reviews and the legitimacy of the reviewer that counts. You’re totally legit!

      Thanks in advance …

  4. The Opening Sentence
    April 11, 2016

    I still don’t get these sites. $620 to promote a free or discounted book? There’s an author in Australia who regularly posts about how effective or ineffective these sites are for her. It’s quite enlightening. I think I’ll set up one of my own.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 11, 2016

      God knows I’ve used a lot of ineffective ones, but BookBub has a good record.

      My biggest complaint in all this is that — you’re right — the books have to be deeply discounted or free. And that teaches readers to wait for a promotion rather than pay, gulp, $3.99!

  5. russtowne
    April 11, 2016

    Hi, Kevin. That’s a shame. I’ve bought, read, enjoyed, and I believe reviewed your book on Amazon. I’m trying something in the next 30 days that may generate a substantial number of reviews for some of my books. I’d be happy to let you know all about my experience and provide insight as to whether I thought it was worth the effort at the end of that time. If you’re interested, please contact me about this time newt month. In the meantime, may your book continue to reach an ever-greater audience.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 11, 2016

      Thanks for the support, Russ! Much appreciated. And do come back and let me know how your review-generating campaign went. Inquiring minds want to know!

  6. John W. Howell
    April 11, 2016

    Well, Kevin, I wish you the best in your quest to throw $620 bucks at Bookbub.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 11, 2016

      Heh. Odd how they’re one outfit that won’t take the $620 right off the bat.

  7. D. Bunbury
    April 11, 2016

    I have been thinking of taking up naked male torso modeling in my spare time.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 12, 2016

      Ha! And with that crack, Mr. Baker, you have won the free ebook!

      Drop me a line at kevinbrennan520(at)gmail(dot)com to let me know which format you want.

      And, by the way, if you’ve already read Town Father, feel free to give this copy to a friend.

  8. Luanne
    April 11, 2016

    What a catch-22 in promoting books. So demoralizing. But ten reviews is certainly not paltry! It sounds like such a good book, but I don’t read Kindle books, unfortunately. Paperbook coming up?

  9. Dylan Hearn
    April 12, 2016

    I know of an author that tried every month for a year before being accepted by Bookbub. I also know of a couple of others who got accepted first time. I’ve been turned down once but plan to try again once book 3 is out and I have an omnibus version available (remember, they like to offer big discounts).
    I’ve seen Q&A’s with Bookbub staff where they say that their standard “try again” reply really means that. Unless Bookbub came back with a straight no and reason why, it’s worth being persistent.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 12, 2016

      Thanks for the pep talk, Dylan. I do plan to try again in a month, hopefully with some new reviews on board. I also asked for “US only” in terms of regions, so that might have been a factor. (Still, I don’t want to pay for regions where there’s not likely to be a big response …)

      They might be playing an interesting psychological game too, so you’re delighted to spend that much money because you finally got in!

  10. I was turned down countless times by BookBub, which is what inspired me to start Forewordz.com. Our submissions guidelines are less stringent and we’re all about supporting independent authors. 🙂 But don’t give up! Stacking your promos works much better than a singular ad or marketing tactic. So if you do get selected by BookBub, make sure you’re using other services/tactics as well.

    • Kevin Brennan
      May 4, 2016

      Thanks for stopping by! I’ll certainly check out your site.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on April 11, 2016 by in Publishing and tagged .
