WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

E-reader poll findings

kdp-amazon1

Thanks to everyone who participated in my e-reader poll last week. Non-scientific, of course, but the results confirmed what I suspected: Kindle rules.

Many people have more than one device, and often the second device is a tablet on which they run the Kindle app. Some people who commented have a Kindle and a Nook or Kobo, but it’s the Kindle that gets most use. Just one person copped to using the Nook exclusively.

I also have both a Kindle and a Nook (an old one that looks like it came from Soviet Russia), but I hang on to the Nook only because there are a number of books on it I want to pay a visit to every now and then. I don’t buy new books for it.

For all intensive porpoises, it seems like Kindle’s the runaway e-reader-leader.

How does this affect my new project?

Well, for the time being I’m concentrating on the pdf version of the book, with the idea that it will be used almost exclusively on Kindle. I’m testing it on my Kindle, playing with different fonts and font sizes, learning how images appear on the page, and trying, as best I can, to make it the most professional-looking product it can be.

Now, I’m also testing EPUB and MOBI versions, and they have their advantages. As I mentioned before, they’re searchable and the font sizes can be changed. But they completely disregard image placement, and spacing is hard to control. Don’t forget, I’m not spending a dime on formatting. This is on the cheap. You and I — together! — are trying something different, and we don’t want to get all caught up in the niceties of proper ebook formatting. Hey, frankly I find the sameness of ebook text a little upsetting. Surprised they haven’t come up with something better by now, but I guess that’d cost the publishers money and they’re notoriously tight.

Bottom line: I hope my initial customers will be bold enough to try the pdf version. Feedback will be welcome (even asked for), and, of course, if you don’t like the pdf I’ll shoot you an EPUB or MOBI at no charge.

This should be fun. I’ll keep you informed of my progress on the book, which at the moment is in a final revising stage. I cut almost 20,000 words out of it and hope to cut more so it turns out lean ‘n mean.

11 comments on “E-reader poll findings

  1. islandeditions
    April 20, 2016

    I just bet I’m your only fan reading about the results of your poll findings while sitting in the Barbados airport waiting for my flight to Toronto. Should I take a poll? 🙂

  2. Author Rebecca Heishman
    April 20, 2016

    Let me just chime in here to say that reading devices are wonderful for people with visual impairment. I’m blind in one eye. Kindle has become my best friend because of the sheer joy of being able to increase font size and regulate the intensity of the light. There are a lot of senior citizens like me who have embraced it for that reason. I believe that’s why so many older people have gotten away from paper. Plus, truth be told, many of us older readers have decided that we no longer wish to buy and hoard every paperback or hardback we ever read in our lengthy lives. That doesn’t make sense any more. We hang on to old favorites, and pass the others on to Goodwill or the Salvation Army for someone else to enjoy. The popularity of e-readers has crossed all generations for a variety of sensible reasons. I don’t think you will have trouble enticing anyone to buy the pdf version. I believe readers of all ages are savvy and open-minded these days, and open to new things. You can count me in.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 20, 2016

      Great point on the utility of e-readers, Rebecca. Thanks for bringing that up.

      Though the size of the font in my pdf tests can’t be increased, the text can be “zoomed.” It doesn’t work too well on a small reader like my Kindle, but maybe on a tablet it would do the trick, depending on the orientation.

      Appreciate your support!

  3. 1WriteWay
    April 20, 2016

    Considering that Amazon (probably) has a master plan to take over the world, no surprise about the Kindle. Although I do appreciate Rebecca’s comment. Excellent point there. Glad to hear you’re making progress on your book. The sooner it’s done, the sooner I get to read it 🙂

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 20, 2016

      Amazon is our master … Submit! Submit!

      I might not sell many books this way, but at least I get to keep 100% of the take. Oh, minus Paypal’s cut … Shoot!

      • 1WriteWay
        April 20, 2016

        Dang. What is Paypal’s cut, by the way?

      • Kevin Brennan
        April 20, 2016

        Not bad. About 70 cents on ten bucks. I can afford that!

      • 1WriteWay
        April 21, 2016

        Sounds reasonable.

  4. 1WriteWay
    April 20, 2016

    Oh, but no pressure, Kevin, no pressure 😉

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 20, 2016

      Right. I think this book would make for fun summer reading … 😏

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2016 by in Publishing and tagged , , .
