WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

“Artificial dissemination” update

Kindle

Here’s the latest on my forthcoming writer-to-reader publishing experiment:

~I’ve done a lot more tweaking of the pdf format for viewing on the Kindle (since almost everyone is a Kindler, according to my poll). It’s a little bit tricky, and I’m not sure how it will look on anything but the basic 6” model, but I like the results at this point. If anyone out there has a tablet running the Kindle app and would allow me to send them a test file, I’d appreciate it. I’ll send you a pdf of Gatecrash set up the way I’m setting up the novel. Contact me if you’re game. (I’d also like to test a variety of Kindles, so if you have a Paperwhite or other type, drop me a line too.)

~I’m leaning seriously toward jettisoning the concept of “pay what you want,” thinking that this puts too much pressure on potential buyers to pay, ironically, more than they want. There would be a minimum price instead, though buyers could offer more if they’d like to support the experiment more robustly. I sure wouldn’t say no. I’d never pressure anyone for more either, and there’d be no judgment whatsoever coming from me if you pay the minimum. But I’d still keep a running tab of people who pay $5 and up so I can acknowledge them in future editions of the book. Kind of like the roll of supporters you see in the program when you go to the symphony. Behold, The Platinum Club!

~I’m having fun selecting images for the book. There are a lot of sources of royalty-free photos out there, and many of them require no permission or attribution. I’ve already secured permission from one photographer, though, whose image I’ll be using as the cover. He graciously let me have it without charge. (And this is just someone I stumbled across online too. Isn’t the internet fab?)

~Susan Toy had an interesting idea. What if I prepared a separate pdf file configured for people who want to read the book on paper? It would cost the same as the ebook because they would print it out themselves. Let me know if you’re that kind of reader.

~The manuscript is coming along, though my wife editor is currently reading it to make sure I’m not committing artistic suicide. Just so you know, it’s a fun book. A silly book. A book with a ridiculous premise, goofy characters, and no deeper message than “the journey to heaven is heaven.” That’s right, it’s another road picture, a la Yesterday Road, but without the nutritional value.

I’m heading off to St. Louis tomorrow to visit my family, but I’ll catch up on comments when I get back next week. Tablet (and Kindle) users, drop me a line if you’re willing to test the formatting for me. And chime in on the pricing strategy too.

Gracias, todos!

6 comments on ““Artificial dissemination” update

  1. John W. Howell
    April 28, 2016

    Have a nice trip.

  2. kingmidget
    April 28, 2016

    I just sent you an email. I have the Kindle app on my tablet and am eager to see how it will look.

  3. 1WriteWay
    April 28, 2016

    I have Kindle on my iPad and a Paperwhite if you want me to test either or both of those. I like your payment strategy. Have a great trip!

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on April 28, 2016 by in Publishing and tagged , , , , , .
