WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Is Self-Publishing His New Novel

Where there’s smoke …

f-feature-hero-T._V275044192_

So I couldn’t resist. I grabbed a Kindle Fire this weekend for the low low price of $39.99. (Sorry, it’s already back up to $49.99 today!)

For one thing, I wanted to upgrade to a tablet because my old Kindle’s been acting funky. It stopped letting me search the content of documents or “go to” particular locations. I don’t know why. Maybe because I’ve been reading more books made of actual paper lately. Testy little gizmo.

But this new Fire — it’s a pretty cool competitor. (You folks with your smartphones — you know the sorts of things these tablets can do.) In addition to storing all my ebooks in one convenient spot, it runs Android apps so I can use it for other things. Such as beaming Spotify tunes through my stereo via Bluetooth. I’m new to the world of mobile apps, so it’ll be a learning period for me.

I’m happiest, though, because my new experiment in self-publishing will look really great on the Fire. My test “Gatecrash” file comes through beautifully, and color images are going to pop on the HD screens most tablets have. It’s not as easy loading a file onto the device as it was on the old Kindle, though. I had to download an Android file transfer app to my Mac in order to be able to drag the file over to the Fire, and some readers might have trouble with that. They’ll have to use Amazon’s email protocol to upload the file. (Every Kindle owner has a special email address at Amazon for this.) It could get tricky for the technology-challenged.

Too bad the price of ebooks is going up, though. Every time I see a new book I’m tempted to grab, I see the ebook is frequently $14.99 or so, and I lean toward the public library ….

So — Who has a Kindle Fire out there? Can you turn me on to any apps you use? Any special tricks that make your Fire (or other tablet) your go-to e-reader?

11 comments on “Where there’s smoke …

  1. Brigid Gorry-Hines
    May 9, 2016

    Wow what a steal! When I bought my Kindle Fire a couple years ago, it was something like $200, and it’s probably not even as high-quality as the newer models. 😛 I actually don’t use mine for much besides reading, but I’ve found it’s a nice size for when I want to watch Netflix in bed or something.

    • Kevin Brennan
      May 9, 2016

      Yeah, I think my Nook set me back $150 a few years ago! I think they figured out you’ll buy more books if the reader doesn’t cost so much …

      Thanks for stopping by, Brigid!

  2. John W. Howell
    May 9, 2016

    Nope.

  3. kingmidget
    May 9, 2016

    I have a Kindle Fire, but I pretty much use it only for reading and occasional web access. I’m not much of an app person except for Spotify and a couple of other things. Even with my smart phone. I just don’t want to get sucked into that world.

    • Kevin Brennan
      May 11, 2016

      Yeah, it does seem like an enormous time suck. I’d rather be outside!

  4. Audrey Driscoll
    May 9, 2016

    Apps? Sorry, I’m a fossil.

  5. 1WriteWay
    May 11, 2016

    Sorry, I am of no help here 😦 I have apps galore on my iPhone but I use maybe a third of them and even with Apple, there are so many updates and changes … I can’t keep up. But now I’m wondering how “worthless” my Paperwhite. It was definitely around $150 when I bought it a couple of years ago.

    • Kevin Brennan
      May 12, 2016

      I was shocked at the price of this thing, though I believe the Paperwhite is still in the $100 to $150 range. Not sure why it’s so expensive …

      • 1WriteWay
        May 12, 2016

        As long as suckers like me are willing to pay the price …

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2016 by in Et alia and tagged , , , .
