WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Girls who shred

Spotted this lass on Boing Boing this morning and asked myself, “Will I ever be able to play like her?”

Answer? “Dream On.”

15 comments on “Girls who shred

  1. John W. Howell
    June 11, 2016

    Whoa!!!!

  2. S.K. Nicholls
    June 11, 2016

    She had to start somewhere.

  3. Woebegone but Hopeful
    June 11, 2016

    Smooth playing…( 1950s/60s some might have said….”Solid!!”..the more ‘S’s the better- I’m going with 5)

  4. kingmidget
    June 11, 2016

    The only effective way to answer question #1 is that you post a video of you playing Dream On. I will be sorely disappointed if you don’t. 😉

  5. Parlor of Horror
    June 12, 2016

    Just like writing, everyone brings their own strengths and originality to their instrument. She has wonderful voicing, accentuation and vibrato, and her own interpretation of the melodies are fantastic.

    • Kevin Brennan
      June 13, 2016

      Yes indeed. Pretty impressive for a young player too. Shows you how the old tunes can have a new life in the right hands …

  6. pinklightsabre
    June 15, 2016

    Talk about flow state. Not sure if it’s my tinnitus, but swear I could hear some fuzz she put on that. Reminds me of Steve Vai, though I’m not a fan of that really technically perfect, clean sound. I like more fuzz. She slays, though.

    • Kevin Brennan
      June 15, 2016

      I have tinnitus too (a weird, high-pitched diminished chord in stereo), but I’m hearing the fuzz loud and clear. It’s funny, but watching her play, she looks a little deliberate. Yet the sound that comes out is smoooooooth.

      • pinklightsabre
        June 15, 2016

        Down with that smoothness. That song is their ” Stairway.”

      • pinklightsabre
        June 15, 2016

        I owe my tinnitus to one of the last Sonic Youth albums but kind of earned it, earbuds and early morning conditioning climbs.

      • Kevin Brennan
        June 15, 2016

        That’ll do it. I think I got mine at The Who concert in 1973. That sucker was LOUD!

      • pinklightsabre
        June 15, 2016

        You come by it honestly. I had an ear doctor tell me it was from using firearms without ear protection, HS Thompson style. Woods + paranoia + other elements hard to pinpoint.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on June 11, 2016 by in Music and tagged , .
