WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Rubin-esque

61meJxby7KL._UX250_It’s a real pleasure to tell you about my most recent Indie-Scribable project.

I’m sure you all know and love Carrie Rubin, author of the extraordinary Eating Bull — the world’s first obesity thriller. Well, not long ago, Carrie hired me to edit her latest novel, a paranormal medical thriller with the chilling title, The Bone Plague.

If you’re familiar with Carrie’s work, you won’t be surprised to learn that this next project is not just well-written but also magnificently entertaining. I can’t tell you anything about it right now, since Carrie, like me, is a little superstitious about revealing too much too soon, but I can tell you that she’ll be pitching it next week at ThrillerFest XI in New York. Having read it, I’ve got good money on her coming away from the Big Apple with an offer of representation or two.

Stay tuned for a follow-up on how her face time with the agents and editors went.

Sadly, if she does land an agent, it’ll be quite a while before we get to see The Bone Plague on bookstore shelves. I’m rooting for her, though. This is a novel with all the ingredients for a real success.

Carrie was kind enough, by the way, to put together a new testimonial for my Indie-Scribable website. If you’re looking for an editor, I can’t think of a better calling card:

I sought out Indie-Scribable to get my manuscript ready to query for a traditional publishing path. I’m so glad I did, because it was a pleasure to work with Kevin on the edits for The Bone Plague. His professionalism and expertise are topnotch, and his insights invaluable. Not only did he tidy up my grammar, syntax, and punctuation mishaps, he helped clarify my metaphors and story bits that didn’t make sense. Plus, he offered advice on how to hone the ending, keeping it in check with the rest of the novel’s tone. I couldn’t be happier with the results. I highly recommend this editorial service.

Visit Carrie’s Amazon author page and pick up Eating Bull and The Seneca Scourge now.

12 comments on “Rubin-esque

  1. islandeditions
    June 28, 2016

    Sounds good! Best of luck, Carrie. I know you received good, solid advice with Kevin editing.

  2. Kevin Brennan
    June 28, 2016

    Reblogged this on Indie-Scribable and commented:

    Congrats to Carrie Rubin on her new novel, The Bone Plague. Good luck at PitchFest, Carrie!

  3. Carrie Rubin
    June 28, 2016

    Wow, thanks so much, Kevin! Very nice of you to spread the word about my work. Landing an agent is getting trickier and trickier in this glutted literary world, but I’ll give it a go and hopefully not end up with too much egg on my face. And thanks to you, I’ll have a clean manuscript to take with me. Yay!

    • Carrie Rubin
      June 28, 2016

      Oh, by the way, I love the title of this post. Hehe. I’m picturing myself in a painting now.

  4. Luanne
    June 28, 2016

    So exciting to hear about the new book!

  5. cinthiaritchie
    June 28, 2016

    Can’t wait to read Carrie’s new book. And cool for you that you got the chance to edit, and read it before the rest of us. Cheers and have a great week.

    • Kevin Brennan
      June 29, 2016

      It was great fun to do. What a blast it’ll be to see it come to fruition!

  6. 1WriteWay
    July 1, 2016

    I loved Eating Bull (as you know) and I’m very excited that you’ve edited Carrie’s next novel. What a win-win for the reader!

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 2, 2016

      Even my mom is excited about this one! (I told her about it, sans spoilers …)

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on June 28, 2016 by in Publishing and tagged , , , , , .
