WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Gender mender

Yes, it’s another grammar pet peeve. Of these I have many …

Indie-Scribable

goddess

First of all, I wanted to sing the praises of Grammar Girl (aka Mignon Fogarty), who posts well-argued answers to questions of grammar and usage. I consult her a lot when I’m editing something, and because her articles are rational and supported with source material, I always feel confident about her judgment.

Here’s a case in point: female vs woman.

It’s a real pet peeve of mine, and I’m always a little surprised when I run into a writer who insists on, or stumbles into, using the adjective as a noun. As in, “I ran into a bunch of females at the Trump rally, and boy were they scary.”

Now, Grammar Girl is objective enough to note that writers as esteemed as Jane Austen were known to use female as a noun, but she says that “ … even back in those times other people complained that using

View original post 154 more words

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on June 29, 2016 by in Publishing.
