WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

The MFA as Calling Card

Another sobering consideration of the MFA …

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

z EmilySmithHeadshot Emily Smith

By Emily Smith:

During the Brooklyn Book Festival last September, my employers and I were invited to a gala hosted by the festival. I was making rounds when I met an MFA student studying at NYU, one who bore a shocking resemblance to the infamous @GuyInYourMFA Twitter account. He told me he was working on a novel.

“Like Catcher in the Rye,” he said, “but Holden Caulfield lives in Brooklyn.”

He was likely the type I had to compete with when I was accepted into Emerson’s MFA program this year. Unfortunately, I had to decline because I couldn’t afford to go without funding. There’s a number of think pieces as to why writers continue to invest in a degree that will saturate them in debt, but the answer seems pretty clear: the MFA is a literary calling card, a title not unlike Vanderbilt or Kennedy that can…

View original post 815 more words

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on July 5, 2016 by in Publishing.
