WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Is Self-Publishing His New Novel

Time passages …

Whoa. I just realized I went to my first rock concert forty-four years ago today.

The Stones. Around the same time as the clip above.

I was fifteen.

Now I’m not.

Carry on!

(If you watch the clip, relish, won’t you, Mick Taylor’s slide solo and the monster brass section featuring Bobby Keys.)

14 comments on “Time passages …

  1. kingmidget
    July 9, 2016

    No! Anybody but the Stones!!! I’m one of the few people of my generation, or yours for that matter, who believes the Rolling Stones is one of the most over-rated bands in the history of rock and roll. A handful of songs I like and the rest is like fingernails on a chalkboard. Although I’m guessing they put on a good show.

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 9, 2016

      Ha! I confess I don’t listen to anything they did after maybe 1981, but in ’72? They were the real deal. Could be one of those “you had to be there” things. “Exile on Main Street” baby!

      • kingmidget
        July 9, 2016

        I think that’s the main problem for me. I came of age musically in the late 70s, early 80s when what they did was utter crap and I’ve never been able to shake that image of their music. Except for that handful of songs from earlier in their career.

      • Kevin Brennan
        July 9, 2016

        Same reason I could never tolerate Elvis!

  2. John W. Howell
    July 9, 2016

    I was too old to enjoy the Stones but finally caught up. Like em now.

  3. ericjbaker
    July 9, 2016

    I like scattered tunes by the Stones but not enough to buy any of their albums. From that era of rock I prefer the Who and the Beatles, though honestly the 60s are all about soul music for me. Motown, Stax, Dynovoice, Sue, Atlantic Records, etc.

    But I’m sure they put on a great show. Mick is one of the best frontmen ever.

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 9, 2016

      You know how it is in your formative years. Whatever’s cool at the time is gonna get in ya.

      You might be interested to know that the opening act for that Stones concert was … Stevie Wonder!

  4. 1WriteWay
    July 12, 2016

    Trying desperately to remember (and perhaps then quickly forget) the first concert I ever went to … Bobby Sherman????????? Yes, I was that young and my best friend and I went to Saratoga Performing Arts Center to see him (with our parent’s permission of course). Next up was David Cassidy, but I found him to be boring … guess I was growing up. Saratoga was a fun place for concerts, at least back in the day. First time I went by myself, I got a center seat, 5th row from the stage to see Judy Collins. Another time I saw Jackson Browne before he was a household name (my friend and I were, like, “Who is Jackson Browne?” until he started playing. He was opening for America and he was so much better than them). Gordon Lightfoot. Sha Na Na. Then Jackson Browne after he became a household name. Lots more I can’t remember. Concert tickets were so inexpensive back then that sometimes friends and I would get tickets and then roam the green rather than behave ourselves and listen to the music. Obviously I wasn’t into rock and roll so much, if at all. Unless we were going out dancing … that’s another story.

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 12, 2016

      Bobby Sherman? David Cassidy? What a divide between boys and girls back then … 😝

      But you’re right about the cost of tickets in those days. I remember my Stone’s ticket cost $9.50, which is like, what, maybe $50 now?

      From ’72 to ’75, I recall seeing Edgar Winter, Mountain, Traffic, Eric Clapton, The Who, Leo Kottke, and, yes, James Taylor. Many more I can’t think of right now.

      Imagine how much that would have set me back today?!

      • 1WriteWay
        July 12, 2016

        Oh, indeed! I forgot to mention seeing Bruce Springsteen in 1974 (?) in Massachusetts. Been in love with him ever since. Especially fond memory of him stopping the concert to ask people to stop throwing ice cubes. It was an outdoor venue and it was hot.

      • Kevin Brennan
        July 12, 2016

        Springsteen in ’74? He must have still had peach fuzz back then! Must’ve been a great show, though.

        I just remembered a big one from ’74. Mr. George Harrison!

      • 1WriteWay
        July 12, 2016

        I’ve seen The Boss twice now and he does put on a great show, but that one in ’74 will always be my favorite.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on July 9, 2016 by in Music and tagged , , .
