WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Watch this space

Cover crop

Time to talk about my next book, which I’ll be “publishing” soon. In a unique way.

Back in April, I told you about my plans to do a “writer-to-reader” publication (“Artificial Dissemination”). The way it works is, readers order the book directly from me, via the blog, email, or any other social media vehicle. They pay $3.99 or more via PayPal, and I send them the ebook in pdf format.

Other special features of this edition?

• Each copy is inscribed to the buyer. (True!)

• The ebook is in a readable Helvetica and can be uploaded to any e-reader.

• It’s illustrated! I’ve collected a lot of terrific royalty-free images that are peppered throughout.

• The cover is tres cool. I did it myself, using a source image that the photographer has graciously allowed me to use free of charge.

As I mentioned before, this isn’t quite a “pay what you want” model, since I’m setting a minimum price of $3.99. But readers are welcome to pay more than that if they like, and, if they do, they’ll be thanked in a future edition of the book — a benefactor Hall of Fame, if you will.

I know up front that I won’t be selling a lot of copies. Then again, I don’t sell a lot of copies of my other books. Therefore, why not mess around with the mode of delivery? Why not engage readers directly, instead of letting Amazon stand between us (and take a chunk of my royalties)? It feels like time to try something new.

The book is called Fascination, and I’ll be telling you more about it in the coming days.

16 comments on “Watch this space

  1. islandeditions
    July 19, 2016

    I knew you’d be coming out with something that was very “unique”! Congratulations! I look forward to reading any new novel by you, whether in a unique format and through a new marketing plan, or the old-fashioned way. Bring it on!

  2. kingmidget
    July 19, 2016

    Looking forward to it.

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 19, 2016

      It’s a comedy, so at least readers will get a few laughs if nothing else …

  3. pinklightsabre
    July 19, 2016

    Nice, looking forward to hearing more Kevin.

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 19, 2016

      Thanks, Bill. It’ll be interesting to see what the response is like. Especially if someone I don’t know orders a copy!

  4. S.K. Nicholls
    July 19, 2016

    Love it! I’m so glad you decided to do this. I feel like you are championing a cause for some reason. I wish you all the success.

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 19, 2016

      Thanks, Susan! I don’t know about success, but I think it’ll be a fun experiment.

  5. 1WriteWay
    July 19, 2016

    Happy dance 😉

  6. John W. Howell
    July 19, 2016

    Best of luck. I will be waiting.

  7. Author Rebecca Heishman
    July 19, 2016

    I’m in.

  8. curtisbausse
    July 21, 2016

    Still with you on this. Intrigued and eagerly waiting.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on July 19, 2016 by in Publishing and tagged , , , , , .
