WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Is Self-Publishing His New Novel

“It was love at first sight.”

61k33tU1CaL

That’s the first line, believe it or not, of Catch-22. I know because I found this dazzling graphic of “34 compelling first lines of famous books” (via Boing Boing, natch).

I’d download it if I were you, and anytime you need a little jolt of inspiration, take it out and scan these classic openings. It reminds you that every first line has to cause an avalanche of words.

Which reminds me — here’s the opening line of my new book, Fascination, coming soon:

It was true that she loved him but hated his name.

9 comments on ““It was love at first sight.”

  1. pinklightsabre
    July 21, 2016

    That Yossarian, in love with an Italian whore again? That’s a tough name, sounds suspicious, un-American.

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 21, 2016

      When a book about war starts with something about love, you know you’re in un-American territory!

  2. Helena Hann-Basquiat
    July 21, 2016

    My favourite? “It was a pleasure to burn.”
    Looking forward to your new book.
    First lines of my WIP?
    “Kurt Vonnegut didn’t know what the fuck he was talking about. Nothing was beautiful. Everything hurts.”

  3. C. J. Hartwell
    July 27, 2016

    I love the variety of books. Of course, Douglas Adams is awarded two entries, for good reason πŸ™‚

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 27, 2016

      Good eye! Makes me want to reread my Hitchhikers … (Thanks for following, by the way!)

      • C. J. Hartwell
        July 27, 2016

        No problem, love the look of your blog by the way.
        Just saw you followed me!
        Glad we stumbled into each other. πŸ˜€

      • Kevin Brennan
        July 27, 2016

        Thanks, Christi. Looking forward to reading you …

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on July 21, 2016 by in Writing and tagged , , .
