WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

More on “Fascination” …

file000984226794

Last week I told you that my new novel, Fascination, is right on track for imminent release, and I’ll be dropping more details on it next week. There’ll be a cover reveal and little blurb about the plot. It’s a strange plot. In fact, I’m having a heck of a time distilling it into a blurb that fits on a typical book flap. There’s Fascination, of course — the old arcade game — but there’s also Texas hold ‘em, a ladies-only cult, a tree sitter, a nice dog, Native American rituals, some garden gnomes, and zen nothingness. Add to the soup a faked suicide and a nice fat insurance payout, and you have a cavalcade of goofy goings-on that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Plus, as I mentioned, it’s illustrated with lots of fun photos, and your copy will be inscribed to you.

Keep your eyes peeled tomorrow for a Twitter storm from yours truly that will culminate in a tasteful promo for the book. I have a new hashtag I’m introducing: #guerrillapublishing. Join in!

Now for the bad news. I’ve been busting my spheroids trying to get the book into a format that will look halfway decent on a Nook, and I just can’t get there. The conversion software, Calibre, tries ever so hard, and I guess if I started from scratch with a plain-text manuscript with no exotic formatting (like centered em dashes for section breaks), I might be able to come up with a readable ebook.

This means that Fascination will be available mainly for Kindle and any number of tablets. I’ve tested it on my older Kindle and on a 7” Kindle Fire. It looks great on both. It might also work on any tablet that can run the Adobe Acrobat Reader app, which preserves my painstakingly worked out page designs and all the images.

If you have a Nook, though, and you still want to buy and read the book, you can certainly download it to your laptop or PC and read on any software that can handle PDFs.

I learned in my poll last spring that a lot of people have more than one e-reader, so I hope I can accommodate everybody. Seems like Nook is silently slipping out the back door anyway. Tablets and Kindles are the go-to devices, but I have to say that this book might even be suitable for reading on a phone of reasonable size. The pages are small and tidy so the font is nice and readable and the pictures still pop.

Be sure to tune in to Twitter for my indie marketing rant: @kevinbrennan520. And chime in along the way too.

5 comments on “More on “Fascination” …

  1. 1WriteWay
    July 26, 2016

    I’m all atwitter!!!

  2. John W. Howell
    July 26, 2016

    Nice one, Marie. I can’t top it.

  3. cinthiaritchie
    July 31, 2016

    Ohhh, can’t wait to read. Haven’t been on Twitter much but guess it’s time to catch up, eh? Cheers and happy formatting.

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 1, 2016

      Hope you like it! Just a goofy, fun book with pics. Summer reading!

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on July 26, 2016 by in Publishing and tagged , , , , , .
