WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Whither the flute in rock music? (an occasional series)

This one hasn’t been on my radar in many a moon, but it popped up on the local classic rock station the other day, and I went, “It’s dripping with flute!”

I don’t know what became of Men at Work. I liked them at the time, even bought their first couple of albums. Though they’re long in the tooth by now, I imagine they’re still down under, touring the Australian festival circuit in a fried-out combie.

12 comments on “Whither the flute in rock music? (an occasional series)

  1. kingmidget
    August 20, 2016

    Have you checked out Colin Hay? He was the lead singer of Men at Work who has gone solo.

  2. Book Club Mom
    August 20, 2016

    I haven’t thought about this band in a long time!

  3. Woebegone but Hopeful
    August 21, 2016

    Timeless song; loved Overkill too.
    They actually were taken to court over the flute break by an Australian Music publishing company who had the rights to a song called Kookaburra written in the 1930s.
    Flutes had a bit of limelight back in the 1960s/ 1970s with Moody Blues’ Ray Thomas, Ian Anderson from Jethro Tull & Terry Kirkman of The Association to name a few (OK; I’m done geeking)

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 21, 2016

      And “Who Can It Be Now” too. They were refreshingly different from all that synth-based Brit pop back then.

      I recognized Kookaburra in the tune, but it never dawned on me it was covered by copyright. I thought it was the Australian “Home On The Range”! 😉

      BTW, search for “Whither the flute” on my blog to see the other entries (including Ian Anderson) …

      • Woebegone but Hopeful
        August 21, 2016

        Oh yeh I forgot that one!
        I’ll have to check out the “Whither the flute”; always sounded so clear!
        Thanks

  4. The Opening Sentence
    August 21, 2016

    I always got this lot mixed up with Men Without Hats. (The Safety Dance)

  5. pinklightsabre
    August 22, 2016

    Stan Getz, “Coming home baby” I think it’s called: I know it’s not rock obviously, but that’s what I think of when I think flute.

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 22, 2016

      Herbie Mann, maybe? He’s a fluter. I like that tune too.

      • pinklightsabre
        August 22, 2016

        Doh! That’s right!

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2016 by in Music and tagged , .
