WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Dang, this jazz kid’s only 13 years old!

Just when I was starting to feel a little better about my own playing …

Then again, this guy “dedicated his childhood to jazz at [age] 8.” I was collecting grasshoppers in jars and doing headstands.

Alas.

5 comments on “Dang, this jazz kid’s only 13 years old!

  1. ericjbaker
    September 26, 2016

    I strongly advise against building one’s self-esteem. Someone will always come along to wreck it all over again.

    When I was 8, I was staging fights between rubber dinosaurs and rubber gorillas. Within 5 years, I had no equal.

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 26, 2016

      You’re a wise man, Mr. Baker. To think I was making the best Creeple Peeple in town when I could have been practicing use of the Dorian mode in II V I progressions. Doh!

  2. cinthiaritchie
    September 29, 2016

    I collected grasshoppers too (!!) and all sorts of insects. I love it when kids are seriously about art/music. I just hope that he’s not sacrificing his childhood for music because you can always have music but you can never have your childhood back again (but I want to be a child again! I want to have no responsibilities! I want to play with toys all day and have someone else cook supper for me!). Cheers and nice post.

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 30, 2016

      Thanks, Cinthia. I feel bad about all those grasshoppers who gave their lives for my cruel whims, though …

  3. cinthiaritchie
    September 29, 2016

    P.S. I love how his fingers fly over the keyboard.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on September 26, 2016 by in Et alia and tagged .
