WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

That time I sat in with those Mersey boys …

Yes, I’m playing all the guitars on this demo of “Come Together,” and yes, they sound crappy. But I was playing with The Beatles, man, and I was nervous!

At the end of the day, they decided not to invite me back for another sesh. Alas, it would be Billy Preston who’d come to be known as “the fifth Beatle.”

Aside from the fact that John Lennon called me a wanker and Paul told me never to look at him directly, I had a lovely time of it and came away with a memorable story to tell.

[Postscript: Damn if YouTube didn’t bust me right out of the gate. The sound’s been muted by the intellectual property po-leece!]

3 comments on “That time I sat in with those Mersey boys …

  1. pinklightsabre
    October 16, 2016

    That’s unreal! What a story! Gear, man!
    I love the photo and the way you told this on the scrolling marquee, there. Very cool. Who gets stories like that?
    My stepdad was a studio sweetener at that time and played once with Paul, said he was real down-to-earth, rolled his own, you know. Thanks for sharing Kevin. We are having a device-free Sunday, as you can see here. Bill

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 16, 2016

      Thanks, Bill! Glad you liked it. I think this could be an interesting way to tell little stories, but I’ll have to be more careful about copyright when I pick the soundtracks …

      What a treat for your stepdad to jam with Macca! I imagine he’s pretty generous when playing with non-Beatles.

      • pinklightsabre
        October 16, 2016

        I loved it.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on October 16, 2016 by in Music and tagged , , , .
