WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

A What The Hell political journal ~ Nov. 3, 2016

ahh

Edvard Munch’s painting really captures what I’m feeling in these last few days before the election. I don’t know what’s going to happen, and it makes me feel like the universe is expanding so fast now there’s going to be a tear in the space-time continuum and I’ll wind up in an alternate reality where there’s only one show on TV and it’s “2 Broke Girls.” On a loop.

If I had any faith in my fellow Americans I could relax a little bit, knowing that common sense will prevail. But 25% of us still think the sun revolves around the Earth, a third of us believe in ghosts, almost half of us are down with Creationism, and more than 40% believe in ESP. To hardcore Trump voters, common sense means tearing the system apart and starting over with some kind of cracker paradise where our Negroes have been pacified and all babies speak English from birth (like Jesus). They think common sense is to be able to use whatever racial epithet you want in whatever company because political correctness has run amok. They think making America great again is to drag it back to the Gilded Age, pre-IRS, pre-Federal Reserve, pre-income tax, pre-manned flight, pre-civil rights — heck, let’s go all the way back to when there were only twelve amendments to the Constitution. (Fewer = simpler = common sense!)

No, I don’t have faith in my fellow Americans, so the guy in “The Scream” expresses my existential anxiety to a tee.

I got to feeling this way two other times, once in 1980 when it started to look like Ronald Reagan was going to win (and he did), then in 2000 when it started to look like Al Gore was going to win (and he did too, but then … didn’t). And yes, life went on after those fiascos, but I got no pleasure saying “I told you so” all the time. If Trump wins, I’m afraid I’ll have to cancel DirectTV and stop reading timely newspapers and magazines, take up some kind of hobby that keeps me indoors (lens grinding, housefly dioramas?), and refuse to speak to anyone who likes staying “well-informed.” Maybe I’ll go back to the Gilded Age, living a life of daily toil and thinking “quiet desperation” isn’t so bad, really. At least it’s quiet.

When I emerge in 2020, I wonder what kind of world it will be out there. That cracker paradise all the common-sense crackers dreamed of? Or a post-apocalyptic dystopia where “2 Broke Girls” is the only thing on TV …

20 comments on “A What The Hell political journal ~ Nov. 3, 2016

  1. pinklightsabre
    November 3, 2016

    I want to bury my head. I bought a really good hatchet at Home Depot this week though, and it splits logs on the first strike, every time.

  2. kingmidget
    November 3, 2016

    For personal reasons, I’ve been attracted to the life of a hermit for the last few years. A house hidden away, as little interaction with people as possible, completely disconnected. The results of this election may drive me even closer to that concept. A President Trump would be such a disaster. His negatives are light years ahead of Reagan and send Bush’s negatives.

    • Carrie Rubin
      November 3, 2016

      A hermit. Sounds tempting. Very tempting.

      • kingmidget
        November 3, 2016

        You introvert you!!!

      • Carrie Rubin
        November 3, 2016

        But I just realized I really like to go to movies. And out to eat. And to Cavs games. Hmm, maybe I won’t be so good at this hermit thing after all.

      • Kevin Brennan
        November 3, 2016

        By the way, sorry about the Indians last night. You had to know the entire world was rooting for the Cubbies!

      • Carrie Rubin
        November 3, 2016

        Yeah, it would have been nice to see Cleveland have another championship win, but I don’t follow baseball, so I wasn’t too vested in the outcome. Besides, it’s been a long time in coming for the Cubs, and seeing the joyful reaction across the country over their win has given us all a brief sweet respite from this campaign ickiness. So I say, “Go Cubs!”

      • kingmidget
        November 3, 2016

        Yeah, I’ve got some of those issues as well with hermitude. But still.

      • Carrie Rubin
        November 3, 2016

        And at least you can make topnotch homemade pizza. With that and Netflix, there’s really no reason to go out.

      • kingmidget
        November 3, 2016

        A hermit shack with a pizza oven!

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 3, 2016

      I’m not far from livin’ the dream, man, and it’s terrific! If DT gets elected, I may never be seen in public again …

  3. 1WriteWay
    November 3, 2016

    My husband says that we’ll have to go off the grid if Trump becomes prez. Fortunately I have a backlog of books to read and yarn to knit.

    • Carrie Rubin
      November 3, 2016

      That’s a good idea. If he wins, I’ll bury myself in books and not come out for four years. I may be blind, but at least I’ll be sane.

      • Kevin Brennan
        November 3, 2016

        Maybe we should start an underground society of sane folk!

      • Carrie Rubin
        November 3, 2016

        No muskets necessary.

      • 1WriteWay
        November 4, 2016

        Good point! It’s kind of like why I read or listen to novels that take place in winter or some chilly clime when at home it’s hot and humid … gets my mind off what is making me unhappy 😉

      • Kevin Brennan
        November 4, 2016

        Hmmm. What’s the opposite of a shit-storm? I’ll read that!

  4. Phillip McCollum
    November 3, 2016

    It’s said that art flourishes under conservative governments if that’s any consolation to ya…

  5. byebyebeer
    November 4, 2016

    Housefly dioramas sound like a lot of fun and you could blog the photos. We have options if it all goes pear shaped, though I hope it does not.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on November 3, 2016 by in Et alia and tagged .
