WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

A What The Hell political journal ~ Nov. 4, 2016

ahh

Now that Hell has frozen over, I don’t quite know what to think. The Chicago Cubs have finally won the World Series, which was dependent, as we all know, on Hell freezing over. Another thing that requires subterranean climate change is Donald Trump getting elected president.

I’m feeling confused by all this.

There might be some other things — good things — that needed the leg up of Hell freezing over, but I can’t think of any at the moment. All I can think about is what is going to happen next Tuesday. Maybe a lot of people think Hillary Clinton can be president only if Hell freezes over. But then you get into some hypotheticals like, her Supreme Court nominees would be confirmed only when Hell freezes over, which it now has, so. Or Bill Clinton will behave for four or eight years only when Hell freezes over. Check. Looking pretty good so far.

On the other side of the coin, now that Hell has frozen over, will President Donald Trump honor the office he so inexplicably holds, surprising all his critics and making us glad that the psychopathic half of the population prevailed after all?

I’m an atheist anyway, so I don’t believe in Hell.

I believe in global warming.

15 comments on “A What The Hell political journal ~ Nov. 4, 2016

  1. pinklightsabre
    November 4, 2016

    I snickered each time you capitalized Hell, for some reason. I guess it’s a place name like Idaho or Sacramento, so it would get capitalized. There’s that Earth / earth thing I’m sure you know about. I thought that logic carried over with Hell but maybe that doesn’t hold. “Heaven…is a place…a place where nothing, nothing every happens…” (Talking Heads song I like.) I didn’t know about the Cubs, I guess I must be in Heaven, blissfully ignorant, unexposed.

    • kingmidget
      November 4, 2016

      Hey, hey, Mr. Pinklightsabre, leave Sacramento out of this. What did we do? I’m pretty sure Sacramento will be voting overwhelmingly for Ms. Clinton.

      • pinklightsabre
        November 4, 2016

        Yo shout out to my boys in Stockton!

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 4, 2016

      I think there might actually be a Hell, Idaho. I’ll have to Google that.

      Yeah, I just figured only a proper-noun sort of place could actually freeze over. A concept, “hell,” I couldn’t see that happening to. A concept can get old, on the other hand …

      Then there’s the Elvis Costello idea of “Hell”:

      This is hell, this is hell, this is hell.
      “My Favorite Things” are playing
      Again and again
      But it`s by Julie Andrews
      And not by John Coltrane.

      • pinklightsabre
        November 4, 2016

        That’s funny. So many hell soundtracks, so many.

  2. kingmidget
    November 4, 2016

    The day the Cubs win the World Series is the day America elects a fascist as President. Wait a sec.

  3. John W. Howell
    November 4, 2016

    Enjoyed this one. It had all the makings of good political journaling.

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 4, 2016

      Thanks, John. Pursuing excellence in pointlessness is what gets me up in the morning!

  4. Woebegone but Hopeful
    November 7, 2016

    As a catholic I am very worried about going to Hell (I used to work for the Inland Revenue- the UK version of the IRS), I will have to share it with lots of whinging metallers wailing because the Devil is playing Muzak and having listening to lots of fellow-religiousists whinging about the fact they shouldn’t be there- if fact I’ll probably have to serve an eternity at the Complaints & Appeals Desk- that and having from time to time to explain to some really nice atheists that ‘Yes, I’m sure you are confused, but you are actually due to go ‘up there’, so please complete Form H1- thank you’

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 7, 2016

      Ha ha. I think you’re probably right about eternal assignment errors. I know a lot of very good atheists who live by the Golden Rule. Can you send me form H1 as a PDF so I can fill it out in advance? 😉

      • Woebegone but Hopeful
        November 7, 2016

        I’ll send out the Application Form A-H1 9b(revised), which is the Application to be able to put in writing The Application for consideration for the Form H1…won’t take more than 30 years.
        (UK Civil Service- we get there eventually )

      • Kevin Brennan
        November 7, 2016

        Excellent. I’ll be dead by then, so the timing is perfect. 😉

      • Woebegone but Hopeful
        November 8, 2016

        You just can’t top the Old School UK Civil Service 🙃!

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on November 4, 2016 by in Et alia and tagged .
