WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

¡Fascination is live on Amazon!

cover-small

Click me, s’il vous plaît!

Yesterday, with no fanfare whatsoever, I published Fascination on Amazon.

I know. Unexpected, right?

You can probably guess why I did it. Two main reasons: One, that after an initial blast of sales to, pretty much (no, exclusively), people who read this blog, I couldn’t give away a copy. There was no follow-up, no word of mouth, and though a number of potential readers expressed interest via comments on reviews of the book on other blogs, none of them pulled the trigger. Two, aside from the blog and Twitter, there’s no way to market the thing. I knew this going in, of course, but I’d hoped that Janey would tell Jenny and Jenny would buy it and then tell Jackie, who’d buy it herself and then tell Jill. It’s #guerrillapublishing, right? The word spreads and strangers start showing up. Six degrees of separation.

Just didn’t happen.

In the same vein, there’s also no way to attract new reviews, especially reviews by people I don’t know.

It was only after I found out that my mother and sister still couldn’t get the PDF onto their Nooks that I accepted (heavy sigh) that #guerrillapublishing has failed.

At least here. Now. With this book.

So I did what I had to do. I stripped Fascination (as conceived) of all its frills, all its wonderful photographs, the signature, the personalized inscription, the Fascination Hall of Fame. I took it down to what it is, at bottom — words. So now, if you buy Fascination you get the bedazzling story and a vividly colorful cover, and that’s about it.

Then again, that’s what you get with most books.

And here’s something else I discovered. Once I’d removed all the images and the little stars and Fascination balls that marked section and chapter breaks, I had such a simple file that I could do the ebook formatting myself. And it’s a million times easier than I thought. You basically let Amazon do it (with a little help from Calibre). For free.

You get a very simple-looking ebook, but it’s clean as can be and has an active table of contents. It has a couple of hyperlinks. It has that cover. And it has about 91,000 carefully chosen words.

You can buy Fascination today for the introductory price of $2.99. If you were nervous about the PDF version, click here and grab yourself a copy.

Unfortunately, because KDP Select requires that enrolled books not be available elsewhere, the PDF version now becomes a limited edition, no longer for sale. I suppose I can give a copy away now and then (wink wink) in exchange for a small donation to the Brennan Foundation For Peas in Our Thyme.

Oh, and those of you who have already read Fascination in PDF, I’d very much appreciate a brief review on Amazon, if you have a few moments to spare.

Many thanks to everyone who stepped up and took a chance on this project. You put your money where your mouth is and tried something different. I deeply appreciate your support.

Hey, it was fun while it lasted!

Here’s the cover flap copy — if it had a cover flap:

Fascination!

It’s a road picture …

It’s a novel about self-realization and vengeance …

It’s a novel about the pointless journey of a grieving young widow — Sally Pavlou — and a love-struck private investigator — Clive Bridle — looking for the dead man who done Sally wrong …

It’s a novel about postponing the inevitable and rushing to conclusions …

It’s a novel about looking for love and avoiding detection …

It’s a book about doing the thing you do best and finding all the satisfaction you need in it …

There’s a ‘63 Dodge Dart convertible; there’s a magical dog named Biscuit; there’s a cult of bald priestesses and a band of brutally honest guilt-mongers; there’s a massive collection of garden gnomes; there’s cutthroat Texas hold ‘em; but most of all, there’s …

Fascination!

34 comments on “¡Fascination is live on Amazon!

  1. Charles Yallowitz
    November 16, 2016

    Reblogged this on Legends of Windemere.

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 16, 2016

      Merci, mon ami!

      • Charles Yallowitz
        November 16, 2016

        (Depending on Google translate for this.) Tu es bienome. I think that’s you’re welcome. My luck with foreign languages is historically bad.

  2. kingmidget
    November 16, 2016

    Sellout!!!!!

    Just kidding. As you know, I would love to see something like your original effort take off for writers like you and I. Will be interested in seeing how it does now that you have it on Amazon.

    Good luck.

    • kingmidget
      November 16, 2016

      you and me. Sheesh.

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 16, 2016

      Heh heh. Well, a good entrepreneur has to adapt to market conditions, right? At least this way I have a crack at readers outside of my itty bitty circle. 😉

  3. Saloni
    November 16, 2016

    Congratulations! I think it is a big deal. I am not happy you had to remove the fun parts, though! The sections and separators are exciting in a book. Or so I think! 🙂

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 16, 2016

      Thanks! It’s true that a little visual pizzazz can be fun, but when you get down to it, it’s all about the writing.

      I appreciate your stopping by!

      • Saloni
        November 16, 2016

        Your wisdom is inspiring. Why shouldn’t it be? You’re an author. The pleasure was all mine. I look forward to reading more of your blog 🙂

  4. Pamela Beckford
    November 16, 2016

    I’m excited that I can finally read it – heading to Amazon now!

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 16, 2016

      Pamela, I thought for sure you’d been able to upload the PDF. Thanks for hanging in there!

  5. 1WriteWay
    November 16, 2016

    I just published my post and I hope it looks all right. I don’t know if it’s my browsers or if WP is having a bad day, but I couldn’t insert a link back to this post. But I guess it’s more important that readers link to Amazon, right 😉 Good luck, Kevin!!

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 16, 2016

      Thanks for the post, Marie! Gave me a chance to reread your Different Kind of Book Review. Love it!

  6. islandeditions
    November 16, 2016

    Reblogged this on Books: Publishing, Reading, Writing and commented:
    And here it is! Kevin Brennan’s new novel, Fascination, is now available as an eBook! This is a great book that I read in its beta version … exactly the kind of pitch-perfect writing I’ve come to expect and enjoy from everything Kevin publishes! Congratulations on this new release, Kevin!

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 16, 2016

      Thank you, Susan! I’ll miss the limited edition, but I hope to gain a lot of new readers with the Kindle version.

      • islandeditions
        November 16, 2016

        And we who did purchase the limited edition will cherish those copies forever!

      • Kevin Brennan
        November 16, 2016

        Awww! Same here. 💓

  7. Phillip McCollum
    November 16, 2016

    Reblogged this on Phillip McCollum and commented:
    Now’s your chance. Give in to your desires…you know you want this book.

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 16, 2016

      Wow, that cover photo is huuuuuuuge on your blog!

      Thanks, Phillip. I hope a lot of new eyeballs land on the book now.

  8. Phillip McCollum
    November 16, 2016

    I keep trying to reblog these types of posts on my new site, but GoDaddy WordPress is not cooperating. Another thing to look into when I can manage it.

    Sorry the #guerrillapublishing experiment didn’t work out as planned, but I think you’ve discovered an opportunity to bring it back in another manner. For the next book, perhaps you can offer limited edition copies with all of those customized perks before releasing it on Amazon?

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 16, 2016

      I thought of that limited edition idea too! (Great minds …) It’s promising, and maybe a good way to earn some early reviews. Or, it’s also a way to get beta readers to pay for the pleasure of helping you! (How diabolical.)

  9. Pingback: Kevin Brennan – an update on an update | Reading Recommendations

  10. Audrey Driscoll
    November 16, 2016

    Well, I’m glad I got the personalized, signed PDF version. I’m flabbergasted that it won’t load on a Nook, because I had no trouble loading it onto my aging Sony ereader. Best of luck on Amazon!

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 16, 2016

      I was able to read it on my Nook, but I think the uploading process is a little tricky for … some readers. 😉

  11. Audrey Driscoll
    November 16, 2016

    Reblogged this on Audrey Driscoll's Blog and commented:
    Given the turmoil and angst-inducing events in the world (you know what I mean!) this is a perfect time to escape into a better world by reading Kevin Brennan’s delightful novel, Fascination. It’s now available on Amazon.

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 16, 2016

      Thanks, Audrey. I’d like to think I could brighten someone’s day at a time like this!

  12. John W. Howell
    November 16, 2016

    Best on the new outlet.

  13. John W. Howell
    November 16, 2016

    Whoops forgot wishes

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 16, 2016

      Ha! I wondered what you were telling me. 😐

      • John W. Howell
        November 16, 2016

        I knew you would so I quickly corrected it. BTW you get your marijuana farming license yet? Those foothills have perfect soil and conditions.

  14. Let's CUT the Crap!
    November 16, 2016

    Congratulations. Best of luck. 🙂

  15. Pingback: ¡Fascination is live on Amazon! — WHAT THE HELL | KingMidget's Ramblings

  16. Kate McClelland
    November 21, 2016

    Reblogged this on Kate McClelland.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on November 16, 2016 by in Publishing and tagged , , , , , .
