WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Fight the power … with tweets

Trump

Just in case you think I’ve moved on from the travesty that was the 2016 presidential election, I want you to know that my ulcer is coming along very nicely. I’ve even given it a name, since we’ll be together for the next four years (at least). Its name is Eric.

It’s important that those of us who did everything they could to prevent Trump from winning overcome our disheartenment and continue to speak out. Write blog posts like this one, sign online petitions that you never hear about again, or even tweet your rage, like Trump himself does. In fact, I actually replied to one of his tweets recently:

tweet-reply

I’m probably on some kind of enemies list now, but I can’t not speak the truth. There was no need to capitalize “theater.”

Since the election, we’ve learned that the president-elect is flipping the country off vis-à-vis his financial conflicts of interest, is going back on his promise to “drain the swamp” by appointing only the most heinous of corporate insiders and political barbarians, is undoing thirty-five years of diplomacy by talking directly to the president of Taiwan, is costing the people of New York City millions of dollars by holing up in Trump Tower 24/7, and is continuing to tweet about such trivial things as whether Saturday Night Live is any good:

snl-tweet

Sad isn’t the word for what I’m feeling these days. Sad is way too cheerful.

Anyway, back to the ramparts. Eric and I are hell for leather in this fight.

17 comments on “Fight the power … with tweets

  1. ericjbaker
    December 5, 2016

    From one Eric to another: You may not have 4 years of this, much less 8. Methinks the PE is not at all interested in the job and will probably weasel out of it before long. His GOP colleagues in congress certainly aren’t interested in him or his plans for making murka great again, either, and would much rather have Pence. I expect they will work out a deal behind the scenes sooner or later to allow an exit.

    • Kevin Brennan
      December 5, 2016

      Shoot, I should have spelled it with a k! I honestly didn’t have you in mind as Eric’s namesake. 😉

      But I’ve been thinking the same thing about a timely resignation a little bit down the line. Maybe after the midterms? I don’t know if he has the attention span to go two years, but if he can’t there’s gonna be some fireworks. President Pence? Talk about the easy route to the White House!

      • ericjbaker
        December 5, 2016

        I don’t buy into anything Pence stands for, but I’d be a bit more comfortable with someone of his demeanor in the executive office, given the unpalatable choice. And the whole “global embarrassment” aspect of Trump’s antics kind of bothers me.

      • Kevin Brennan
        December 6, 2016

        Same here. I can see we’re headed for “The Handmaid’s Tale” one day, though …

    • kingmidget
      December 5, 2016

      I think he’s already handed over the reins of managing government and policy to Pence. Trump is going to keep doing what he does — tweeting, stirring up the masses into a frothy mess, and having fun introducing chaos into our country and the world.

      In other words, I’m not optimistic about the resignation.

      • Kevin Brennan
        December 6, 2016

        A phony president for a phony democracy. Sounds like we got what we deserve, eh?

  2. Audrey Driscoll
    December 5, 2016

    Don’t let Eric/Erik turn into a bully. 🙂

  3. kingmidget
    December 5, 2016

    I think you’re on to something about tweeting back to him, but I can’t do that for two reasons. First, I’ve just never found Twitter that interesting a place to spend much time. Second, the day I start following his twitter feed is the day I shoot myself.

    • Kevin Brennan
      December 6, 2016

      Well, I sure as hell don’t follow his feed, but I spotted that particular tweet in a news story. Of course, that’s what’s wrong with the media now; they repeat everything he tweets, giving him what he wants: Attention. Help us!

      • kingmidget
        December 6, 2016

        I would love to return to a world in which social media didn’t drive the news.

      • Kevin Brennan
        December 6, 2016

        Wouldn’t it be loverly …

  4. 1WriteWay
    December 6, 2016

    You might not wind up on an enemies list, but I heard that he blocks followers who criticize his tweets (some consider it a “badge of honor”). I think Max is right that Pence will be the one doing all the work, while DT uses his status as Prez to work business deals. Unfortunately, even though Pence has a better temperament, he is still contemptible given his stance on LGBTQ and reproductive rights.
    Recently I read an opinion essay in the NYT from an Elector (from Texas, no less) who claims he will not vote for Trump. That is what I’m looking forward to (or at least hoping for): that DT will not get all 309 electoral votes that he is supposedly due. Meanwhile, we must be vigilant and diligent.

    • Kevin Brennan
      December 6, 2016

      Shoot, so far it seems like he hasn’t bothered to block me! I’ll have to try harder.

      I just read that same editorial in the Times, but the thing that bugs me is the guy isn’t willing to vote for Clinton. He’s tossing his vote to Kasich or someone like that. I don’t think Clinton can win if she doesn’t achieve 270, so peeling away Trump votes is meaningless unless these guys switch to Hillary. Political theater. He gets to look principled when he’s really just posin’.

      • 1WriteWay
        December 7, 2016

        Yes, that bothered me too. And interesting that he left that tidbit (Kasich) for the near end of his essay. I think it’s time to put the Electoral College to rest. Supporters of the EC keep saying we are a “republic,” not a democracy but that doesn’t mean we can’t evolve. If every country stuck with the “original intent” of its founders, this world would look a lot different and not necessarily better. Back to the essay, I agree that for the Electors to make a real difference, they’d have to cast their votes for Clinton. Voting for someone else is simply symbolic. And discounting Clinton’s popular vote would just add fuel to the fire. If this Elector succeeded and somehow swung 270 votes over to Kasich, then we’d have a president elected by a mere 270 people. I still would like to see Trump lose some electoral votes, if only to chafe that tender skin of his. But unless they vote in Clinton (which they could but they won’t), that’s all it will do.

      • Kevin Brennan
        December 7, 2016

        And can you imagine the violence in the streets if the EC overturned the so-called will of the people? They’d be burnin’ down Walmarts!

      • 1WriteWay
        December 7, 2016

        lol …

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on December 5, 2016 by in Publishing and tagged .
