WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Seizin’s greetings πŸŽ„πŸ˜±

I don’t know about you, but nobody speaks to me at Christmastime like Tom Waits.

I’m retreating into my toasty lair for a few days, polishing up new posts for the new year, learning to bake bread, reading, hiking in the woods of the Sierra foothills, and basically trying to ignore the cataclysm going on in the outside world. I’m using the election to immerse myself in the modes of the major scale (where’ve you been all my life, Mr. Dorian?), transcribing Kenny Burrell and Wes Montgomery, writing songs even if no one else ever hears them, appreciating my life-luck, monitoring my blood pressure, and making sure I take note of the beautiful things wherever they may turn up. Last night it was a magenta sunset.

Take good stock, and enjoy your holidays, everyone.

6 comments on “Seizin’s greetings πŸŽ„πŸ˜±

  1. John W. Howell
    December 22, 2016

    I think taking notice of the beautiful things will be of help. Enjoy your holidays

  2. 1WriteWay
    December 23, 2016

    Have a wonderful, peaceful holiday, Kevin. We’re going camping for the first time in a long time. We have a new tent πŸ˜‰ Unfortunately, it will be unseasonably warm (which means the skeeters will be about), but I am looking forward to being off the grid and ignorant of anything but the trees and the birds and the sunsets. Cheers!

    • Kevin Brennan
      December 23, 2016

      Enjoy your camping trip, Marie! Sounds great. I can’t think of a better way to celebrate the holiday: away from everything! πŸ˜‰

  3. walt walker
    December 29, 2016

    Sometimes Tom Waits strikes me as the Charles Bukowski of American music. Do love me some Tom Waits, tough, especially the early and middle years of his career. Thanks for sharing this one, hadn’t seen it.

    • Kevin Brennan
      December 29, 2016

      My pleasure, Walt. A little TW goes a long way with me, but I do still trot out “Rain Dogs” every now and then, which I find pretty representative. I used to live pretty close to Tom in western Sonoma County but never ran into him in town.

      • walt walker
        December 29, 2016

        Yes, Rain Dogs is my fav. Got turned onto it after hearing a couple of songs that were featured in the Jarmusch he did, “Down By Law.”

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on December 22, 2016 by in Et alia and tagged .
