WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Things Trump has done since last Wednesday

trumpface

Each week, as a way of containing my outrage so as not to sound too shrill, I thought I would dispassionately list the godawful things “President” Trump has done in the preceding week. These will be things that ought to be resisted, denounced, overturned, or otherwise dispatched to some deep dark hole in the ground, just so you know where I stand, but you’re free to judge them any way you want. The underlying message is always, “Hey, America, be careful what you wish for.”

Here’s what the Great Pretender has done just since January 25th:

・Ordered the construction of the Mexico wall, to the tune of $14B — out of the U.S. Treasury.

・Talked about bringing back torture and CIA “black sites.”

・Talked about pumping up Guantanamo.

・Continued to spout nonsense about millions of illegal immigrants voting in the November election and ordered a “major investigation” of the charge.

・Removed mentions of climate change from the White House website.

・Defunded a program for counseling on abortion in third-world countries.

・Signed an executive order to withhold federal funding from so-called sanctuary cities.

・Issued a memorandum reviving the Keystone pipeline, illegally requiring it to be built with domestic steel.

・Offended Mexican president Nieto so badly he canceled his scheduled U.S. trip.

・Proposed a 20% tariff on all imported goods.

・Threatened to send federal troops to Chicago to stop the violence there.

・Caused the Doomsday Clock to tick 30 seconds closer to midnight, i.e., nuclear Armageddon. Oh joy.

・Banned immigration from seven Muslim-majority countries.

・Fired the acting attorney general for doing the right thing.

Bonus: At least twice, Sean Spicer has accidentally tweeted the password to his official Press Secretary Twitter account. http://boingboing.net/2017/01/26/at-least-twice-sean-spicer-ha.html It was (and I hope it isn’t still) “Aqenbpuu.”

12 comments on “Things Trump has done since last Wednesday

  1. Pamela Beckford
    February 1, 2017

    Be afraid. Be very afraid

  2. kingmidget
    February 1, 2017

    I’m waiting for the day he does something I can agree with.

    I’m waiting…

    waiting …

    waiting …

  3. 1WriteWay
    February 1, 2017

    I try to find hope wherever it might be: in the protests, in the boycotts led by Democrats. More Republicans need to stand up to him. One theory is that they (Bannon et al.) are trying to see how much they can get away with, how far can they go. So Congress has to come together and stop him now. I know it’s wishful thinking but I engage in wishful thinking because that’s the only thing that gets me through the day.

  4. John W. Howell
    February 1, 2017

    I used to believe reading posts like these were not good for my mental state. I’ve changed my mind. You go, Kevin. I’ll look forward to it every week. I still can’t believe we are in this mess. The two-party system needs to go. Also, forget Congress (both sides) they are part of why we are here now.

  5. S.K. Nicholls
    February 2, 2017

    I wish I could “like” everybody’s post on your page. I’m outspoken and most likely annoying a lot of my like-minded FB friends. I’ve always been a political animal and a bit of a rebel…it all started when I was a teenage ward of the State. There are just not enough hours in the day to say what needs to be said.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2017 by in Et alia and tagged .
