WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Is Self-Publishing His New Novel

Gobsmacked

People never fail to surprise me.

Earlier today I ran a post about the rushing American River, accompanied by a photo of the river from a prior flood year, 1997. I found the pic online, tracked down the photographer, and asked for permission to reproduce it, which he granted (with no conditions). All he wanted was a credit line, and I copied it directly from his email.

As a courtesy, I forwarded him a link to the post when it went live, and within a couple of hours came a note from him saying, “Discontinue use of my photo. It is deceptive.”

I asked for clarification, indicating that I had noted in the text that the photo showed the river’s condition in 1997. His one-line response? “Please discontinue the use of my photo.”

Who knows why he’s being so belligerent, but it’s his intellectual property, and so I’ve taken the picture down.

Frankly, I bet he poked around a little on What The Hell and didn’t like what he saw.trumpface

Folks, it takes all kinds.

In other blog-maintenance news, I see that some of my posts are up and disappearing — poof! The titles remain but the text is gone. Is anyone else having that problem with WordPress, or do I have a blogstergeist?

4 comments on “Gobsmacked

  1. John W. Howell
    February 10, 2017

    Sounds like black ops to me.

    • pinklightsabre
      February 10, 2017

      I think a bad mould in the server farm.

      • John W. Howell
        February 10, 2017

        There you go. I knew there would be a plausible explanation. 😀

  2. kingmidget
    February 10, 2017

    Odd.

    And now I have to go check and see if my posts are disappearing. Sigh.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on February 10, 2017 by in Et alia and tagged .
