WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Announcement: I can’t take it anymore

I am out of here!

With regret, but also relief, I want you to know that my ongoing series, “Things Trump Has Done Since Last Wednesday,” has ended. I talked it over with my doctor, and she said that in addition to cutting back on my salt and fat intake I should avoid things that utterly piss me off.

I’ve been running the pieces on Wednesdays ever since the administration’s first week. There have been a disconcerting number of heinous things to put on these lists, and the cavalcade of incompetence will no doubt continue for as long as this billionaire doofus is in charge, which — don’t forget the 4/5 odds at Ladbroke’s — could be less than a year. Only time will tell. It’s what will be happening while we wait that scares me.

From the blog’s statistics on Wednesdays, I also know that the Trump series has been depressing my readers as well. This one’s for you.

I’ll come up with something more life-affirming on Wednesdays from now on. Here’s hoping that we all find ways to endure that offer some assurance that the sun will come up tomorrow and all kitties go to heaven.

21 comments on “Announcement: I can’t take it anymore

  1. John W. Howell
    April 1, 2017

    Why does this have April fool’s day overtones?

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 1, 2017

      It’s no joke, amigo. I realized life’s too short!

      • John W. Howell
        April 1, 2017

        I agree with you. Angst needs to be modulated. 😀

  2. Pamela Beckford
    April 1, 2017

    There’s no fool like an April fool…or anyone named Trump

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 1, 2017

      I wish the whole election had been one big April Fool’s joke. If it weren’t for my own mortality, I’d say 2020 can’t come soon enough!

      • Pamela Beckford
        April 1, 2017

        It won’t take until 2020. It’s unraveling now

      • Kevin Brennan
        April 1, 2017

        Great. Then we’ll get President Pence! 😐

      • Pamela Beckford
        April 1, 2017

        As a Hoosier he’s the only reason I worry about impeachment. But I’m hopeful they will all get convicted and go

  3. kingmidget
    April 1, 2017

    I get it. I actually posted something on Facebook last night suggesting that we all need to stop reacting to every drip of information that comes out — particularly with respect to the whole Russia thing. I wish the media would do so as well. The endless, breathless reporting of every little thing. Can we please return to man bites dog stories?

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 1, 2017

      Not sure about that. Distraction is the devil’s tool! I just don’t want this administration’s behavior to become normalized so we go numb. “There he goes, suspending habeas corpus again, that scamp.”

      • kingmidget
        April 1, 2017

        Can’t disagree with that. Need to find the balance in there somewhere.

  4. Luanne
    April 1, 2017

    Yeah, I am trying to avoid as much as possible the stuff that upsets me because I guess I can’t handle it. KITTENS I can handle. Cats are my medicine!

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 2, 2017

      If only cats could rule the world … Nah, that won’t work either! 😉

      • Luanne
        April 2, 2017

        We would always know if an “underling” really got in trouble or not–look for the scratch across the nose.

      • Kevin Brennan
        April 2, 2017

        They’ll learn the ropes soon enough: https://youtu.be/gp-zQ7gQYV0

      • Luanne
        April 2, 2017

        I am going to get a bell and train my cats!

  5. 1WriteWay
    April 1, 2017

    As someone who ODs on newsy websites, I feel your pain and agree with your therapist. If you’re not already doing this, put your energy into calling your reps, tweeting at them, emailing them, whatever. I don’t know if it really works, but at the least I feel my Democrat reps need shoring up, so sometimes I call just to say “thank you” for trying ;). Yeah, every time I think it can’t get any worse … but as far as that Russian business … that’s some serious treasonous shit there. You know they must have something to hide when they are trying (like the Keystone Kops) so hard to obfuscate the media and the American people. I wish I could avoid it all, but I. Just. Can’t. Too much is at stake. Like, I don’t know, our democracy?

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 2, 2017

      I remember being super politically active when the Gingrich revolution was in full swing. Went to a Jesse Jackson march and speech in SF, called, wrote, marched some more. Then came GW and we marched again. Now I have a recalcitrant GOP congressman who’s like a piece of Trump software and will never cast a less-than-reactionary vote, but I’m still writing and calling. You’re right. When that’s all you can do, you have to do it.

      I guess we’re not gonna see utopia in our lifetimes, eh? 😦

      • 1WriteWay
        April 2, 2017

        Likely no utopia. But I’d settle for seeing #45 impeached 😏

  6. pinklightsabre
    April 2, 2017

    Good, thank you. I wondered how long you could do that and appreciated it on one level but will look for new news now on Wednesdays here. Bill

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 2, 2017

      It was starting to affect my fragile psychological balance. Maybe I can come up with something therapeutic …

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on April 1, 2017 by in Et alia and tagged .
