WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Name of the prose

Say, did you notice? Really? No? You didn’t notice that I changed the subtitle of the blog?

Now, instead of “What The Hell: Kevin Brennan Is Self-Publishing His New Novel,” it’s “What The Hell: Kevin Brennan Writes About What It’s Like.”

That’s because more and more the blog isn’t much about self-publishing my new novel. At the moment I’m not even sure I will self-publish my new novel. But I still write a lot of stuff and this is the best place to put it all, rather than busting my bum trying to submit it to indifferent websites and unapproachable print outlets. I don’t have the patience or stomach for that anymore. Much more fun to deposit my brain drippings right here, where I’m Editor-in-Chief.

As for the “What It’s Like,” you can fill in the blank for yourself. What it’s like to write for the pure pleasure of writing. What it’s like to be a groovy human being. What it’s like to think up things for no reason. All of the above.

For me it’s basically what it’s like to be Kevin Brennan, novelist, country gentleman, bedroom songwriter, and friend to the bewildered.

9 comments on “Name of the prose

  1. kingmidget
    April 21, 2017

    You’ve just described why I started blogging. At the time, there were all these places that said you could only have a successful blog if you write to a niche — food … or sports … or politics … or [fill in the blank]. That sounded pretty boring to me. As you say, my blog is about what’s it like to be me … food, sports, politics, fiction,, random thoughts and photographs, and everything in between. Success is a matter of definition.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 21, 2017

      Yep. Once you realize that a blog isn’t the marketing miracle they told you it would be, you might as well dress it up any way you like.

      • kingmidget
        April 21, 2017

        Yep … blogging is very much a closed loop kind of thing. Not much actual marketing actually possible beyond that closed loop except for the rare blogger who breaks out … which is about as common as the rare writer who breaks out.

  2. John W. Howell
    April 21, 2017

    You forgot watchdog of conservatives in your self-description

  3. pinklightsabre
    April 23, 2017

    I like it. I’ve been happy to watch the kind of arc your blog has taken since I started following you. There was a time you were going to bail altogether, I remember that. I think I could palpably sense you were thinking whether or not it was worth it. And I’ve thoroughly enjoyed your daily insights and stories, so thanks…from one happy customer here. Or shall we say friend since there’s no transaction here? Know what I mean? Bill

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 24, 2017

      I figure that since I’m on a five-year plan where blogging/self-publishing is concerned, I might as well stick with it. And as long as I have stuff in my head that wants to get written, I might as well blog it.

      Friends for sure, Bill. I can’t remember how I landed on your blog, but I’m really glad I did!

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on April 21, 2017 by in Writing and tagged , , .
