WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Savagery

Feels like it’s better to stand back and observe things these days rather than plunge into the world of “alternative facts.” The other day, for example, I observed on the radio, if that’s possible, irate conservative callers on the Michael Savage show bemoaning the fate of Bill O’Reilly after his dismissal from Fox News. I was listening for a while as I waited for my wife to come out of the post office, since the car radio picks up only hard-right programming on the AM band in our part of the county. You could easily cook up a conspiracy theory on that if you were so inclined.

Caller after caller blamed O’Reilly’s victims, while Savage referred to the women as “harridans.” They said that political correctness and feminism are out of control in this country and that we’re destroying men and masculinity. What’s wrong with a man complimenting a lady’s nice dress at work? How come a well-meaning gent can’t take notice of a young woman’s new hairdo or how toned her legs are in those sheer pantyhose? And Savage, ramping up his voice to “man the barricades!” volume, said women out there need to think of the men in their lives — fathers, sons, brothers, cousins — who are being treated so unfairly, deprived of their instinct to express a healthy, natural attraction to the opposite sex.

In other words, O’Reilly didn’t do anything wrong.

Of course, they left out the parts about O’Reilly banning women from his show for not playing sex ball with him, for intimidating them and threatening to ruin their careers. And we all remember the puke-inducing phone call to one object of desire, in which he masturbated over a shower scene with a soapy loofa, “or that falafel thing,” as he put it. I can think of a place where he ought to shove “that falafel thing.”

Callers to the Savage show, by the way, refer to him as “Dr. Savage.” That’s because he got a PhD in “nutritional ethnomedicine” at Berkeley in 1978.

But I’m just an observer, and I observe that these callers are so invested in some kind of alt-right, Ayn Rand worldview that, in worrying about those poor men who can’t leer and insult women anymore, have forgotten their own daughters, especially younger women just now coming into the adult world in a state of optimism that they can do anything they want in life. These callers care more about Don Draper’s right to coerce his secretary into having sex with him or she’ll lose her job. They think she can always change jobs, just as Trump said he hoped that Ivanka, in such a situation, “would find another career or find another company if that was the case.” I am not making this up.

As an objective observer I find this interesting, though, stepping out of my role for just a moment, it would have been nice to think that men, especially influential men like Bill O’Reilly and Dr. Michael Savage, would have evolved enough over the last fifty-plus years to respect the women they work with and to consider their daughters before they indulge in something they’d hate for their daughters to have to endure.

12 comments on “Savagery

  1. kingmidget
    April 25, 2017

    It’s not remotely possible. I had a friend of about 20 years I met through my wife. Our friendship blew up after the election in a FB exchange. He voted for Trump. One of the things I said to him was that I couldn’t understand how he could look his daughter and wife in the face after voting for Trump. I really don’t get it. Really don’t. He voted for a man who thinks nothing of walking up to women and kissing them and grabbing them by their pussies because he can because he’s rich and famous. Wonder what that former friend would do if somebody walked up to his wife and grabbed her by the pussy.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 25, 2017

      Totally mind-boggling to me. It’s like they have a bad case of cognitive dissonance and can’t see that their daughters are potential victims of this BS.

      I bet I know what your friend would do in that situation … 👊🏼

    • 1WriteWay
      April 26, 2017

      Not to mention that there’s something kind of Chinatown-like between Trump and his daughter Ivanka. I’m hoping he never literally crossed that line, but I wouldn’t put it past him to have had sexual fantasies about Ivanka. He did say on TV (The View) that if she wasn’t his daughter, he’d probably be dating her. (Note the assumption: not that he’d like to date her, but that he would be dating her.)

      • Kevin Brennan
        April 26, 2017

        Icky. Believable. Icky.

      • 1WriteWay
        April 26, 2017

        My husband and I were really creeped out when after Ivanka’s speech at the GOP convention, Trump came out and put his hands on her hips. Not her waist, as if to hug her. But her hips as if … well, I’ll just stop there.

      • kingmidget
        April 26, 2017

        Because she wouldn’t have a choice if he wanted to.

      • 1WriteWay
        April 26, 2017

        Exactly.

  2. Carrie Rubin
    April 25, 2017

    Hear hear. The whole issue drives me crazy. I keep thinking one morning I’ll wake up and this will all roll off me, but that morning hasn’t come yet.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 26, 2017

      I know what you mean. Even worse that the bad boy walks off with $25 million. Arghhhhh!

  3. 1WriteWay
    April 26, 2017

    Ah, this is such a much better venue for commenting than Writer Beat. I just read all the lovely, highly intelligent, articulate, and grammar perfect comments to this post over there. Granted, there were a few thoughtful comments, but most read like the kind of inane, knee-jerk tirades that I see occasionally on Facebook or my local paper. (Seriously, EXPAT thinks you’re really a woman?! That’s deep.) Even the more cerebral writers seem to lose their cool and start insulting each other. It seems most of the articles being posted are political in nature, so it may be a fluke that Writer Beat picked me up … which makes me wonder if I’ll stick with it. I’ve been thinking about a post on book reviewing. I wonder how that would go over with the “wing nuts.”
    Now about this post: I can’t listen to people like Savage or Limbaugh or Hannity. The only time I could tolerate Bill O’Reilly is when they showed clips of him on The Daily Show or The Colbert Report. Even his interviews with Stewart and Colbert were difficult to sit through. You could see how the man would use his tall stature and beady eyes to intimidate. In my humble opinion, it’s more about power and control than sex. If it was just sex, then men like them would probably just pay for it and avoid the hassle of being rejected. No, their desire is get what they want when they want it from whom they want it. Sex is the most obvious way to exert power and control, and for dinosaurs like O’Reilly and Trump, it makes them feel virile when they are anything but.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 26, 2017

      I’ve learned pretty quickly not to take the bait over there. I doubt if I’ll bother posting again. It’s clear there’s no debating these f*&ks — they’re just lobbing grenades.

      But I think you’re right about O’Reilly. It’s all about power. He and Trump are totally unappealing as men, but they can have any woman they want by intimidation and threats. How sexy.

      • 1WriteWay
        April 26, 2017

        Yeah, it looks like a bit of a troll fest over there. My skin is fairly thin but I don’t have a problem with people disagreeing with me as long as they’re not name-calling or engaging in some other juvenile behavior. I just don’t have patience for that. Life is too short for that BS 😉

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2017 by in Et alia and tagged .
