WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

What The Hell is 4 years old πŸŽˆ

birthday boy

WordPress told me yesterday that it was the blog’s birthday. And damn, I didn’t get it a present …

I started this puppy as a way to dip a toe into self-publishing, to see if I could make a go of it that way, to get my novels out into the world. Blogs were considered necessary parts of your marketing strategy, your branding. And in these four years I’ve published four novels and one little story collection. Booyah.

But I’ve learned that blogs aren’t very useful for marketing books. Branding, maybe, but the brand I’ve built resembles Stimpy, I have to think, because it doesn’t seem to do much for me in the way of selling books. Still, it’s me.

What the blog has done for me is offer a place to dump my thinkings, and that’s good. It’s been a lot of fun, most of the time, though frustrating too. But it’s more fun the more I think of it as a public journal, just a depository, rather than a medium that needs an audience. I used to think the more people who read it the better, but now I’m leaning toward the quality of the relationships it’s helped me build. A few great ones are better than lots of shallow ones.

I’m on a five-year plan here, with two more novels I want to get out there. We’ll see how it goes. But after 1235 posts (this is 1236), I might run out of things to say before 4/26/18.

Stay tuned …

16 comments on “What The Hell is 4 years old πŸŽˆ

  1. Carrie Rubin
    April 27, 2017

    Oh how time flies. Congrats on the milestone!

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 27, 2017

      Thanks, Carrie! It’s a little scary that four years have streaked by already. 😱

  2. islandeditions
    April 27, 2017

    A very Happy Blog Birthday to you!!!

  3. John W. Howell
    April 27, 2017

    Congratulations. Run out of things to say? I doubt it. I also agree a blog is pretty ineffective in selling books.

  4. S.K. Nicholls
    April 27, 2017

    Fancy that, we have the same birthday.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 27, 2017

      No kidding?! Must have been a bloggy vibe in the air that day. Congrats to you too!

      • S.K. Nicholls
        April 27, 2017

        We’re the same age too.I was doing it cause everybody told me I should.

      • Kevin Brennan
        April 27, 2017

        1957 … it was a very good year. πŸ˜‰

  5. kingmidget
    April 27, 2017

    You’ve pretty much described my entire blogging evolution as well.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 27, 2017

      Must be a pattern repeated again and again. Thanks for hangin’ in there with me through thick and thin, Mark!

  6. Audrey Driscoll
    April 27, 2017

    Impressive! Congratulations!

  7. pinklightsabre
    April 27, 2017

    A few great ones, yes. I thought the same, that more is better, that’s so tempting, but I think we know otherwise.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 27, 2017

      I had one day in my first year when hundreds of people came by because of Amanda Palmer picking up a tweet of mine. Downhill from there …

      • pinklightsabre
        April 28, 2017

        I remember that. Well, so it goes. Things could be much worse.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on April 27, 2017 by in Writing and tagged .
