WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

New (even more affordable) rates at Indie-Scribable

Well, Indie-Scribable is reducing its prices.

After my informal poll a while back, in which everyone pretty much said I was in the right ballpark, I still wondered. I’ve since had another couple of inquiries where the writer balked upon hearing the rates for proofreading and copyediting. Until I have a nice stable of writers who come back to me again and again, it only makes sense to lower my prices.

Starting today, proofreading will run you $2.00 per 250 word page, and copyediting will cost $3.00 per 250 word page. That makes it a cinch to come up with your own estimate as you wrap up your final draft. A 100,000 word ms, for example, comes to 400 pages, so proofreading would cost $800. Copyediting would run $1200.

More typically I see manuscripts in the range of 80,000 words, so that would be 320 pages and $640 and $960 for proofreading and copyediting, respectively.

Often I offer hybrid pricing in which I charge the copyediting rate only for those portions of the book that need it. That means you can keep your editing budget for a 100,000 word book under a grand most of the time.

If you’re almost ready to drop that new novel into the market, give me a buzz and we can see about getting it in tip-top shape by summertime. You can buy something cool for yourself with the money you’ll save!

See the Indie-Scribable website for details, including testimonials here.

4 comments on “New (even more affordable) rates at Indie-Scribable

  1. LindaGHill
    May 2, 2017

    Just out of interest, how long does it take to copy edit and proof a manuscript of 100K words? Asking for a friend.

    • Kevin Brennan
      May 2, 2017

      Usually I’ll allot about 3 weeks for a book of that length, but it often depends on what the book needs. Plus, I make a second pass through the ms to make sure all my changes stand up. If your friend would like to send a sample, I can offer a better estimate.

      Thanks, Linda!

      • LindaGHill
        May 2, 2017

        Thanks, Kevin. I’ll let her know. 🙂

  2. Kevin Brennan
    May 2, 2017

    Reblogged this on Indie-Scribable and commented:

    New rates announced today.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on May 2, 2017 by in Writing and tagged , , .
