WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Holiday round-up

Why me? Why me?

When Trump dissed Mika Brzezinski the other day, I didn’t think, “That’s it. He’s toast now.” I don’t think he’ll be toast until there’s a recording of him asking Putin to help swing the election or he tries to bribe a senator with a lifetime supply of Trump Steaks. He apparently has carte blanche to say whatever he wants, all because his supporters sold their souls. If you saw the clips of Jason Chaffetz (R-UT) disowning Trump before the election you know what I mean.

Out here in California it’s possible to go skiing on the Fourth of July, if you’re so inclined. Climate change does not exist.

And maybe you saw in The Times that it’s the southern states that are going to suffer the most with accelerating climate change. I won’t say “I told you so” when things get bad down there, but I might say “Can you hear me now?”

Our dog had to have a couple of benign blobs taken off his body the other day. He’s a cone-head now and hates it, even though he’s blob-free. It’s hard to get him to understand …

The deer arrive each night and devour the special deer-resistant plants we bought.

Our local water company just informed us that they won’t be able to provide enough safe drinking water for the area through July 3rd. We have to conserve by 20%, but hey, this is Trump country. It’s every man for himself. (“I’m not killing my azaleas so you can take a goddamn bubble bath!”) Wish us luck.

Over the long weekend, maybe you need something quick and fun to read. How about In No Particular Order, for 99 cents? And if you’ve already read it, maybe you’d like to be the first to review it on Amazon!

Fascination isn’t a bad holiday read either. It’s sitting on seven reviews right now.

My wife and I bought cool-looking swimming goggles to get us through a summer of pool fun. Maybe I mentioned it here before, but it’s not the chlorine that makes your eyes burn in the pool. It’s something else that’s found its way into the water …

Have a blast on your Fourth of July weekend!

14 comments on “Holiday round-up

  1. kingmidget
    July 1, 2017

    I read a headline within the last couple of days that suggested that there are gallons of urine in most pools. Gallons. Not in our pool. I simply can’t understand people doing that.

    There’s a story out now that Trump has asked his advisors for “deliverables” he can provide to Putin. Chew on that. His supporters defend him because he’s a fighter and the MSM is biased and gone off the rails. Not sure I disagree with the latter anymore, to be honest, but he’s President and he’s only making it worse.

    Pretty amazing that in this summer of too much water, your water company doesn’t have enough. How did that happen?

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 1, 2017

      “Deliverables”? WTF? I gotta think there’s a smoking gun out there somewhere …

      Our water treatment plant had a filter malfunction, so they need to get it repaired — and over a holiday weekend to boot. We’ll see how that goes …

      • kingmidget
        July 1, 2017

        I’m starting to think that some of these leaks are intentionally false to make the MSM look bad.

      • Kevin Brennan
        July 1, 2017

        Sadly, I think you might be right. 😐

      • kingmidget
        July 1, 2017

        I’m driving to San Luis Obispo and thinking about a post I may write. Basically, this entire thing is Trump getting even with Obama for making fun of him at that dinner a few years ago and it’s turned into a massive temper tantrum where he is settling every imagined score he can. Take no prisoners. All out war against those he believes have wronged him.

      • Kevin Brennan
        July 1, 2017

        The man’s a patriot, eh? 🗽

  2. Phillip McCollum
    July 1, 2017

    Have a great Fourth, Kevin!

  3. jilldennison
    July 3, 2017

    First, just let me say … awwwwww, poor puppy! (I am an animal lover who shares my home with 7 furry family members that I refer to as the Significant Seven — all are rescue kitties). Now, to the point … yes, Trump does seem to have carte blanche … and what I keep scratching my head and asking is: can you imagine what would have happened if President Obama had done any single one of the things Trump has done??? He would have been crucified and impeached so quickly our heads would have spun. And yet, some 39% or the populace think the ‘man’ can walk on water, that anything he does, from sexual harassment to mocking the disabled, from trying to shut down our free press to destroying the environment … it’s all fine! Sigh. I repeat … sigh. Have a happy July 4th!

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 4, 2017

      So right about the Obama thing. Seems like every day I say to myself, “If Obama did this …” More and more I see that the main characteristic of the right is hypocrisy and that of the left is lack of imagination. Or courage. If the left were as ballsy as the right, maybe they could get somewhere!

  4. jilldennison
    July 4, 2017

    You may be correct in that we need to be more vocal, imaginative and courageous. I think, at least for my part, we try to win the battle with dignity and respect. When I start to rant, I always try to remember what Michele Obama said last year when the campaigning took on a particularly nasty persona. She said, “when they go low, we go high”, and I respect that … I try very hard to do that, to keep what I say factual and calm. But perhaps we are not getting our message across, not being heard over the clamor of the ones on the other side. Hmmmm …..

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 5, 2017

      Yep, it’s the old “don’t bring a knife to a gun fight,” and they’re the ones with all the guns!

      • jilldennison
        July 5, 2017

        That’s the truth!!! Annnnddd … while I may get more outspoken from time to time … I am absolutely NOT buying a gun! 😀 😀 😀 That’s my line in the sand. Hate them! 🙂

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on July 1, 2017 by in Et alia and tagged .
