WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

O say can you Morrissey?

I woke up one morning and found out that my body had been inhabited some time in the night by Morrissey. There was nothing to do but try to harness that special angst of his and pen a tune. He channeled most of the lyrics through me, since I have no idea what it’s like to be that unhappy all the time. I did contribute the wah wah lead guitar, though … so there’s that.

Please listen. He gets so depressed when his friends won’t let him whine at them.

 

Lovely Liar

You were alone on the street

In nothing but a raincoat.

I was sad because I’m always sad,

But you smiled and made me glad.

 

You moved in on a Sunday,

Replaced all my things on the Monday.

Forgot to tell me you had a python,

So there’s that.

 

You crossed your legs and said

You’d never be the one to leave me.

And I laughed,

And we laughed,

Because we both knew you were lying.

We both knew you were lying.

 

You might have told me that you sleep alone,

Your apnea like thunder.

And you come and you go with no concern

For my well-being.

I have to feed the snake!

 

And when I ask you for

A little precious time,

You smile and say, “Grow up. You’re a big boy,

You’re a big boy now.”

 

You crossed your legs and said

You’d never be the one to leave me.

And I laughed,

And we laughed,

Because we both knew you were lying.

We both knew you were lying.

 

From May to June we were well in tune,

But in July, you wanted to die.

And in September you forgot to remember

My birthday.

You forgot my bloody birthday!

 

Then one morning you vanished,

Nothing left but your raincoat,

That and your hideous python.

So there’s that.

 

You such a liar, a lovely lovely liar.

You said you’d never leave me.

But now you’re gone

And I love you more than ever,

What is wrong with me?

What’s wrong with me?

[Image originally posted to Flickr by really nothing at https://flickr.com/photos/35160239@N07/5974324621. It was reviewed on 17 March 2016 by the FlickreviewR robot and was confirmed to be licensed under the terms of the cc-by-2.0.]

4 comments on “O say can you Morrissey?

  1. Phillip McCollum
    July 18, 2017

    Haha, this was classic. The channeling of Morrisey is strong with this one.

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 18, 2017

      Thanks, Phillip. It’s hard to resist him when he comes a’calling. 😉

  2. Ilona Elliott
    July 23, 2017

    She did a lot of leg crossing. Incontinence issues?

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 23, 2017

      You assume it’s a she? 😉 We’re talking Morrissey, remember …

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on July 18, 2017 by in Publishing and tagged , , , .
