WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Welsh rare bit

This did my heart good. Tom Jones and Janis Joplin firing up their R&B machine and blasting “Raise Your Hand” out of the park.

I remember watching This Is Tom Jones on TV back in the day, mainly because my mom was in love with him and we had just the one television set. I’d gripe about having to watch it, but now that I see the caliber of musicians he had on (in addition to Janis), I wish I’d paid more attention: Sammy Davis Jr., Tony Bennett, CSN&Y, Wilson Pickett, The Moody Blues, Johnny Cash, Joe Cocker, Lou Rawls, Aretha, and, of course, Don Ho. Many more too. Maybe you also remember this clip, with Tom doing the theme song to my novel, Fascination.

If you loved music, TV was worlds better back then. All the jazz greats were on the small screen. All your favorite rockers. Now you have to sit through three-quarters of Jimmy Kimmel to get to someone like Chairlift or STRFKR.

It’s not the same …

4 comments on “Welsh rare bit

  1. Phillip McCollum
    August 5, 2017

    Not the same, indeed. We have a few channels on our satellite service that air some of the old variety shows. I always get a kick out of the musical guests.

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 5, 2017

      I guess you can watch almost all of that stuff on YouTube. Plus we had a black and white TV till about 1975. Maybe things ARE better now …

  2. Ilona Elliott
    August 5, 2017

    I agree. We enjoy AXS televisions programming.

  3. pinklightsabre
    August 6, 2017

    Ok that was stupid-good. And on a Sunday morning, no less.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on August 5, 2017 by in Music and tagged , .
