WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Appealing words

Just stopped in at my Amazon author page to see if any new reviews had popped up lately. Sadly, no.

Kids, I know I sound like a broken record, but the only way for indie books to get traction is for some halfway decent word-of-mouth to take off. When I’m not running a promotion, everything screeches to a halt sales-wise, and the only thing that can bring my books some much needed attention are new reviews.

It’s über important to review every indie book you read.

I particularly need a little help with Fascination and In No Particular Order. The former is stuck at seven reviews, the latter at just two.

If you’ve purchased these titles, please read them and post a review on Amazon. If you’ve already read them, it only takes a minute to write up a tidy notice. Then it takes but mere seconds to tweet that you’ve done so, adding another layer of promotion.

And hey, if you’re a regular reader of the blog, you’ve already read 90 percent of In No Particular Order. For 99 cents you can download it, refresh your memory, and draft a few lines for posterity.

I half worry that agents check out my books on Amazon and see scant review numbers, which biases them against We Were Together. I hope not, but I do worry. (It sounds like something they’d do!)

Here’s the link to my Amazon page. Anything you can do I’ll appreciate to the max.

2 comments on “Appealing words

  1. Audrey Driscoll
    August 7, 2017

    I see I’m 63% through INPO, and fully intend to post a review when I’m finished reading. I try to review all the indie books I read — admittedly many freebies, which vary wildly in quality. My e-reader of choice is still an ancient Sony. Can’t read Kindle books on it without some sort of machinations involving something called Calibre, which I have no intention of doing. When the Sony craps out, I’ll get a tablet (or whatever is current at the time) and download the Kindle app. Then it won’t matter, but in the meantime I read Kindle-only ebooks on the computer, which excludes many reading situations such as the all-important pre-sleep read. Right now, I’m beavering up a blog post about my recent reading, in which INPO will be featured.

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 8, 2017

      Thanks so much, Audrey. You’ll increase my reviews by 50%!

      INPO is available at Barnes & Noble, Apple, and Kobo, unlike my other books, so at least non-Kindle folks can grab a copy. But doesn’t Amazon have an app for Sony like the Nook? I haven’t checked in a while …

      I can’t read books on the computer for some reason. My brain doesn’t cooperate. 😐

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on August 7, 2017 by in Publishing and tagged , , , , , .
