WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Musical jeers

Away for a few days, so I thought I’d show you the place where I make all ze beautiful muzeek.

It always amazes me that you can do so much these days with a pretty small investment. Back in the day, when I dreamed of putting a band together, the cost of guitars and amps and mics and all the other fun stuff made me wish my well-to-do uncle would step in and subsidize me. (No such luck.)

Now — just look — the most expensive thing in the pic is the iMac. The guitar wasn’t expensive, the interface to the computer wasn’t expensive (and replaces an amp for recording purposes), the mic was reasonable, the monitors perfectly affordable, and the MIDI keyboard positively cheap. The chair is a knockoff, the table was on sale, the effects pedal an all-in-one model that does the work of dozens of pedals, and the headphones a bargain.

GarageBand is free with the Apple.

So you see, if you have an avocation you don’t have to mortgage the house to indulge.

(PS — I also do quite a bit of writing in that room, when the mood strikes.)

 

 

 

4 comments on “Musical jeers

  1. The Opening Sentence
    August 12, 2017

    A couple of weeks ago I treated myself to a Mac Pro. 8 core for £245. I use version 7 of Logic, a free guitar plug-in from Native Instruments and the only stuff I’ve bought is the keyboard controller and the Lite version of Rob Papen’s Blue virtual instrument.

    It’s not just the costs that you can avoid these days when making music, it’s the whole having to learn to play an instrument thing too. I can’t play a note; I use Logic’s note matrix thing, which takes a bit longer than playing a chord on a real instrument, but taking forty years to learn how to play guitar like George Lynch isn’t an option.

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 12, 2017

      That’s an interesting point about not having to learn how to play. I feel that way about the piano; I’d love to know how to play, but I can’t invest the time at this point. But I can use my MIDI keyboard and make reasonable piano sounds, using more than one track if I have to. Pretty cool!

      On the other hand, I do love learning more and more on the guitar, and I’m glad I’ve stuck with it over the years. It’s rewarding to be able to pick up an instrument and run through a few tunes.

  2. cinthiaritchie
    August 13, 2017

    I love your music space, it’s so clean and uncluttered but still warm, if that makes sense. I want a writing space that resembles the same but I just can’t seem to stop myself from cluttering my space up with books and papers and notecards and stuff, you know? I keep thinking that I’d write more if I had a more inviting area. Maybe that’s true though probably it’s just another excuse. Anyway, glad you had a great place to record, and write.

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 14, 2017

      Thanks, Cinthia! It’s a great little room, with really nice light too. I’ll admit that when I’m in the thick of a music or writing project, things get pretty messy. 😉

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on August 11, 2017 by in Music and tagged , , .
