WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Another outlet for brain droppings?

The other night I dreamed that I founded a new literary magazine. To be honest, someone else in the dream was the true founder, but she asked me to give it a name and to help her run it, but since everyone in your dreams is actually you, I figure I’m the top name on the masthead after all.

I don’t know who that woman was, but I do know that she was super jazzed about founding the magazine.

The name that I came up with for it in the dream was The Disappointed Housewife.

No idea where that came from, but the more I think about it, the more I like it. And the more I interpret the dream, the more I’m wondering if it was an order to found this literary magazine.

We could use this as the cover:

I’m not sure what the journal of the dream would have published, but I’d have in mind, as founder, short works of literary fiction and essays that stretch conventions, play with forms and genres, and in general disrespect the Iowa Workshop model in every way possible. You know, stuff that a disappointed housewife might come up with when she’s mad as hell and isn’t going to take it anymore. There’d be a lot of tongue-in-cheekness going on, a lot of parody, and a lot of stabs at humor. Kind of like McSweeney’s, but not nearly as snide.

It’d be strictly an online publication, unless it really took off (yeah, right). Contributors would retain copyright the same way it works when you get a story published in a real lit mag. But hey, this would be a real lit mag!

What do you think? Should I open it up for submissions?

19 comments on “Another outlet for brain droppings?

  1. Luanne
    November 14, 2017

    But what about poems that people think are prose? If so, I say GO FOR IT!

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 14, 2017

      Absolutely, poems would have a place with The Disappointed Housewife! I might have to enlist a poetry editor, though …

      • Luanne
        November 14, 2017

        I apply as long as I can have an assistant to kick around.

      • Kevin Brennan
        November 14, 2017

        I find that cats make great editorial assistants. ๐Ÿ˜บ

      • Luanne
        November 14, 2017

        If you want 5 out of 6 poems accepted, yes. Those five cats will lie on the piles, smiling. The 6th cat will eat his pile. That’s what happened to the last check that came my way, too.

  2. islandeditions
    November 14, 2017

    Just think of the pleasure you will have in rejecting most of the submissions that won’t fit your guidelines. A little payback for those 101 damnations?

    It is a good idea though. I say, Go for it! Good cover and title, too.

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 14, 2017

      Ah, you make a good point. Might give me a good reason to get up in the morning … ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. kingmidget
    November 14, 2017

    I’ve often thought of starting a literary journal for writers who don’t write as though the MFA style is the only way to write a story. Because sometimes stories that go from A to B to C without long meandering detours around nothing and everything are actually interesting to read. Can I be your co-editor?

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 14, 2017

      Heh heh, I don’t think you’d want this on your resumรฉ, man. ๐Ÿ˜

      It’s so true about the MFA style. Could be because MFA students really want to write novels, but it’s hard to critique novels in workshops so they write stories that are like novels, or novel excerpts.

      • kingmidget
        November 14, 2017

        Oh, I’m in desperate need of a little reputation ruination on my resume.

      • Kevin Brennan
        November 14, 2017

        Oh, God, I’m sorry … ๐Ÿ˜

  4. John W. Howell
    November 14, 2017

    Go for it. A lot of good reasons have been stated.It might be a great way to keep you off the streets.

  5. Audrey Driscoll
    November 14, 2017

    Sounds like your brain is trying to tell you something; it’s probably rebelling against all those agent submissions.

  6. 1WriteWay
    November 19, 2017

    Oh, yeah, go for it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 19, 2017

      Really? Got anything you’d like to contribute? ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • 1WriteWay
        November 20, 2017

        Ha ha ha … youโ€™ll have to be careful how you handle submissions from friends ๐Ÿ˜‰ Maybe you could set up a blind review process to avoid at least the appearance of favoritism.

      • Kevin Brennan
        November 20, 2017

        True. Or I could find a “friends n’ family” editor to do the dirty work.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on November 14, 2017 by in Publishing and tagged , , .
